We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waited to review on second visit.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vincenzos

Vincenzos
16 addycombe terrace | Heaton, Newcastle upon Tyne ne65dp, England
01912400300
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
North Shields
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Waited to review on second visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have had so many many meals where a return visit is a completely different experience, so for this one I waited until we had eaten there a second time, (Sunday Lunch).

Starters are very reasonable, about £2.50 each

Sunday Lunch £5.95 with choice of meats, we asked for chips instead of veg and they were happy to oblige.

I started with the home made pate, it was creamy and very tasty.
My main was a large slice of beef ( steak sized ) with a little mash, Yorkshire pudding, lots of gravy and side of chips, English mustard asked for and not charged.
The beef could be cut with a fork, it was tender and delicious.

We will be returning and recommending.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    42
    9
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food, some aspects can be improved though.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Went with my partner for a Groupon Sunday dinner which was £11 for 2 3 course meals. When we arrived, we really were not sure at all. The table cloth was dirty, still had chocolates and crumbs from previous diners, the glasses for the drinks could have been cleaned properly. The old fashioned placemats looked like something from the 60s.
That was when the disappointments end. The potato skins were crispy but still moist and mushy inside, the garlic dip was delicious as well. For the main course, I had the baked salmon and partner had the roast pork belly which were well cooked and flavoured to perfection. The sticky fudge pudding was warm with vanilla ice cream was divine. Well done to the cooking team.
Even without the voucher was still value for money, we were put in the 'groupon corner' as everyone that sat in the area had a voucher print-out on hand made us laugh a little.
A little out of the way if it was not a groupon deal, however would not dismiss the opportunities to come back again, especially for the Sunday dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Special Dining Evenings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I are regular diners at Vincenzo's and recently have enjoyed the Moroccan night and the "Taster" Evening. These "specialist" dining evenings are in addition to the normal menus and are well worth trying. They are held every two or three months and they give the Chefs the opportunity to show of their skills. We haven't been to them all but those that we have we have thoroughly enjoyed. The first Taster Evening we went to we took some French friends with us and they were entranced by the quality of the food served, the ambiance, the friendliness of the staff and fellow diners. The Mediaeval Banquet was awesome, honestly, and we would love Vincenzo's to do another one. We see them as a special treat which we award to ourselves. If you haven't tried one then do so but I doubt that you will be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good experience, would recommend.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Spent the weekend in Newcastle and went to Vincenzos which was opposite where I was staying.
It was a Saturday night and we had not booked but we were made feel very welcome and given a table.

Food was quickly served, well presented and tasty. We just had traditional Italian dishes - the pasta was delicious.

I would happily go again. It was not expensive and the place had a relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always been great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Got a groupon for a 3 course meal for for people. The food was fantastic and a huge portion. A Sunday lunch to die for. Even without the voucher the prices were really reasonable. The owner had my daughter in hysterics. Fun family Sunday lunch, will definitely be back soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vincenzos also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Vincenzos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vincenzos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.