We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First but not the Last” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tenji Japanese Buffet Restaurant

Tenji Japanese Buffet Restaurant
Barrack Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 4LA, England
191 230 3888
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Noodle
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“First but not the Last”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Was taken out by our daughter to this place. We have never sampled this type of food before. Nice big car park and we were welcomed in a shown to a table on arrival. We took the drink for 2 hours option at £6 which proved a real bargain. Next trip was to the Sushi bar. We picked very carefully as we did not know what most of the stuff was. From there onto the hot food bar. Massive range of foods there and we filled our plates. All very nice but quite unusual food for us. Then back again for a good range of puddings. The service was excellent. Also we could go backwards and forwards to any of the food bars as many times as we liked. At £10.90 each, has to be a bargain. Will go back and try some even more adventurous stuff next time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    23
    16
    6
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Every thing is nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My favourite restaurant in Newcastle. Everything is so delicate and delicious. My boyfriend and I always go there. We both love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Caterpillar!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Me and my bf came here and wrapped a bit of salmon sashimi up from our plates at the end (it's only gonna get binned) only to find on the accompanying leaf the biggest hairiest caterpillar. Yikes!!!!
Certainly turned our stomachs the thought of us potentially Consuming another unnoticed!
That's not all:
I could have forgiven that if the staff had been even slightly apologetic about it but when we emailed them we were completely ignored.
Verdict:
Rude
Overpriced
Unclean
And Dangerous!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ditto132, Manager at Tenji Japanese Buffet Restaurant, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi still 2
1st we did not receive your email, which email address you send to , could you able to email me more detail after you left the restaurant , as what did u use to wrap the salmon ,
How did u handle the salmon after you left the restaurant ,and how long did u find out their is a caterpillar , email address : info@ tenjijapanesebuffet .co.uk , plus please if next time you in would like some salmon wrap home please let us know , we can supply you a better container to wrap up, BTW , we are a buffet restaurant that ALL YOU CAN EAT , BUT NOT ALL YOU CAN TAKE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Under expectation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The food was good but not much variety for the price of £19.90. The sushi and macaroons were great. The main dishes were really under expectation, the fried tofu was oil-soaked and very salty. There are quite a number of beef dishes, not recommended for people who do not take beef. The service was okay, with some friendly staffs and some not.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic..!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Absolutely fantastic..!!! just come back from a lovely meal at Tenji, food is great, lots of choice and very very fresh. well worth the money.
service was great and staff very friendly. we will defo be coming back :-)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenji Japanese Buffet Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Tenji Japanese Buffet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenji Japanese Buffet Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.