We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good grub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Keelman's Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle upon Tyne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Keelman's Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Grange Road | Newburn, Newcastle upon Tyne NE15 8NL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“good grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

came across this pub /restaurant/ hotel and brewery last year whilst cycling, my brother and i had a spot of lunch and a pint of their own brewed beer and so decided last saturday to try it again. i had a burger and chips with side salad, one of the best burgers i've ever had, my daughter had a trio of fish cakes and she raved about them, great setting right next to the river good food and lovely tasting ales, all in all a very good place to drop into if your on a drive out for the day

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    37
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
22
27
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I've never stayed here, but I've been for a few lunches. The staff are all nice and friendly, and they serve good beer (including Prince Bishop) for a fair price. Inside it is very pleasant, with a lovely big conservatory if you want to dine in there. There are lots of tables outside in a very large area, which includes a playground for kids.

However, if you want a good meal, forget it. The menu has a decent selection, but the quality of the food is very poor. There were 3 of us there recently and we all had different meals. I had a trio of fishcakes with (unnecessary) potato wedges and a dried up salad. The fishcakes had a very thick coating of breadcrumbs, and seemed to have been deep fried. My son had a stottie cake with beef which was covered (and spoilt) with loads of "gravy". The 3rd meal was scampi with poor quality chips.

I would only return for a couple of pints, but definitely no more food. It's a pity, because the food is it's only failing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

A lovely clean hotel room with all the basics. While on the same site the rooms are in a separate building to the Big Lamp Brewery which means that you can get some sleep even when the Brewery is busy. Meals can eaten at the Big Lamp Brewery which is a very popular pub and eating house. The food and ales were very good and the staff very helpful. It is also right on the Hadrian's Wall route.

Room Tip: There are two floors so if stairs are an issue book the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We tried eating here a few years back and found it less then average. We decided to give it another go a couple of days ago and once again we were very disappointed. I had steak and ale pie which was average at best, mashed potatoes totally bland tasted like they had not included any butter, cream or seasoning. Also it was served in little round balls like I used to get at school. Veg was over cooked and again no seasoning. In fact thinking about it the whole thing was like a poor school dinner. I really think this chef does not care about the standard of his/her food. This is a real shame as it’s a really nice pub and has massive potential, but is sadly not living up to that potential.

If you are in the area and would like a nice pub meal I’d recommend The Original Masons in Walbottle. We have been on many occasions and always found the food to be lovely. And no before you ask I don’t work there!

On a brighter note, it is a really nice place to enjoy a real ale on a sunny day in the beer garden!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Lovely spot along the Hadrian's Wall trail. Nice sized room with a tub in the bathroom and a very comfortable bed. Everyone of the staff that we interacted with were professional and cheerful. The dining room provided a great dinner. The scrambled eggs at breakfast were made of real eggs, a much appreciated first for us in the UK. The bonus of staying here is that there is a brewery on premises! We met several people in the bar who had travelled a distance to come for a weekly dinner at the inn.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morayshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Room fine bed fairly comfy. Basic tea facilities. No iron. No phone. No room service. Breakfast expensive, we had pot of tea 4 slices of toast and 2 small poached eggs. This cost £13.85. On the positive side the meals and service were good and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Having read the reviews and having high standards I was a little worried about going to dinner last night however my concerns were unfounded and myself and the other 4 members of my group including visitors for the US had a very enjoyable meal, good quality food, nice refreshments and very helpful staff.

Good location on the balcony upstairs which was quiet and great for conversation. We wouldn't hesitate to go again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Keelman's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keelman's Lodge

Address: Grange Road | Newburn, Newcastle upon Tyne NE15 8NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Keelman's Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Keelman’s Lodge and Salmon Cottage are purpose-built hotel accommodation lodges, which stand in the grounds of The Big Lamp Brewery and Keelman pub on the edge of the Tyne Riverside Country Park.The Keelman is only 5 miles from Newcastle and 3 miles from the Metro Centre. Being easily accessible by both public and private transport and 10 minutes from Newcastle Airport, this is the ideal location for a holiday break, or as a stop off point for those travelling Hadrian’s Wall.The Two Lodges, the Keelman Pub and the Big Lamp Brewery blend contemporary and traditional style providing a stimulating and comfortable ambiance.Rated four-stars by Quality In Tourism and Visit England. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Keelman`s Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Keelman's Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Keelman's Lodge to your Saves list