We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly comfortable in centre of city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn Newcastle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Jurys Inn Newcastle to your Saves list
Jurys Inn Newcastle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Scotswood Road | St James Gate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Motherwell
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fairly comfortable in centre of city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed for two nights on business in the hotel. Check in was very courteous and quick, receptionist have me all required info.

My room was on the 4th floor looking towards the metro arena. Room was good with double and single bed. Only annoying thing was noisy fan in the bathroom.

I had breakfast in the hotel both mornings. The first morning the hot good wasn't very hot but was better the following morning.

The hotel is very central to newcastle and is only a short walk to the train/metro stations!

I would be happy enough to stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    206
    99
    29
    28
See reviews for
45
127
18
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed here Tuesday/Wednesday on business. Multi-story car park just behind has secure parking at £12 a day. Reception was friendly, with bottled water available at reception for £1, a vending machine and an ATM. Rooms were well equipped with TV, hair drier, comfortable double bed and storage space. If you want an iron/board call reception and they'll bring it straight to you. We ate in the restaurant, good quick food and service. Breakfast was buffet style and mix of hot & cold food. Overall a good comfortable stay, if you're travelling in by train the station is minutes walk away, as it other pubs/bars/restaurants, will go back

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

..very central. Good sized room, windows well insulated against noise and a pleasant place to stay for two nights. Very organised arrangements with a taxi firm in the morning that got us on our way very efficiently. Small niggle was the fact that the remote had run out of battery and this was not sorted despite a note left with it on the first morning. But overall a very good stay, very reasonably priced and I would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Jurys in my view are a budget hotels, and great value for money. The hotel is in a great location in the centre of Newcastle, easy walk to and from station and metro and easy walk to multiple eateries just ask at the hotel. The hotel is clean and comfortable. Room and Bathroom have all you need for a comfortable stay, breakfast self service with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, Im glad to hear you found your stay enjoyable and made the most of our city centre location. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed here with a group of friends for night out. Nice clean and smart hotel. Does have a lot of young people there just for drinking but Newcastle is known for that. Very comfy beds. Very nice bar downstairs and nice and close to city centre.Definitely recommend

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I will ensure to pass your feedback onto the rest of the team.

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Recently spent 4 weeks at this hotel for work. Food was great, staff very pleasant, especially the restaurant and bar staff. Even though they seemed to be under staffed some nights, they still got on with it and were a great team. Made my stay enjoyable and finally got the Sky Sports back on it the bar. Would recommend

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. The head chef prides himself with his high quality food so I will ensure to pass your feedback onto him. I will also pass your kind words onto the rest of team.

We hope to welcome you back soon

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I cant praise Jurys inn newcastle enough, I booked a double room but needed it changed to a twin - no problem, asked for a later check out - no problem even though the hotel was fully booked the following day. I wanted a taxi cost to the airport so they phoned the taxi company they have a partnership with. Finally i needed help on the local area surroundings which i got including a very helpful map.

I found it unusual there was no seat/chair in the room either under the desk area or sitting in the corner, its handy to have one to keep all your items in one place or to sit down when making phone calls/drying your hair.

The newly decorated bar area is modern and fresh i love the grey and teal colour scheme.

The only downside i experienced was the portion size on the bar food menu, i ordered the fish and chips and felt there could have been a few more chips and not sitting under the fish so that the fat from the fish it was cooked in doesn't soak into the chips.

All in all a great stay and would not hesitate to go back at any time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review.

Im delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will ensure to pass your feedback to our head chef with regards to the fish and chips.

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurys Inn Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Newcastle

Address: Scotswood Road | St James Gate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 79 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Newcastle offers great-value accommodation in the very city centre of vibrant Newcastle. The hotel is just 500 metres from Newcastle Rail Station, a short walk from a plethora of shops, bars and restaurants, just a 10 minute walk from Eldon Square and The Gate shopping centres. The Centre for Life science is 200 metres away and Newcastle United Football Club is 900 metres from the hotel. Its excellent city-centre location makes it the ideal place to stay when visiting Newcastle for both business and leisure. Newcastle is known for its vibrant nightlife and has been voted one of the UK's leading destinations for stag and hen parties. The hotel features all day Costa Coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 6pm to 10pm for dinner. Laundry and dry cleaning service is available. If you are arriving by car a nearby public car parking is available at Times Square car park located next door to the hotel. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All rooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi - guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable rooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Newcastle with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, JurysInn, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jurys Inn Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jurys Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.