We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn Newcastle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Jurys Inn Newcastle to your Saves list
Jurys Inn Newcastle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Scotswood Road | St James Gate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My first touch with Newcastle. Honestly before going there I have no specific knowledge about the city. I have choosed the hotel from the proposed list provided by the organizer of the event. I made the final decision by using the tripadvisor reviews. A good choice. Nice and modern hotel. Big, clean and functional room. There is nothing to be a subject of critisism. Not to forget. Close to the railway station. But I will be even more happy when the breakfast will have a longer list of options. And there was a strange feeling that something is missing. A warmer atmosphere perhaps? Or just a specific atmorphere, which goes together wtih new and modern hotels. And yes, I am that young anymore. Anyhow. If you like to be close to the centre, close to the railway and have a rational money / value relation, Jurys Inn is a good option.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Im delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Thomas_carter@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    201
    98
    29
    28
See reviews for
45
121
18
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night, for a friends birthday. Amazing value for money...!! Was so easy to find, reception staff were brilliant and very helpful (all the staff including security were!), its in such a good location as well just a short walk or taxi ride to centre. Rooms were great for what we'd paid as well, we'd definately stay here again !!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words regarding your stay with us here at Jurys Inn Newcastle.

Our team always endeavour to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable while staying with us and I was delighted to read that this was reflected on your stay with us. Im glad to hear you made the most of our city centre location.

I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Newcastle in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager


Thomas_Carter@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed for 1 night. Reception very helpful and was quickly checked in. Room was large in great decorative order. Very large bath room. Both immaculately clean. Bed very comfy. Being a Sunday night the hotel was quiet and I had a great nights sleep. The hotel is so close to the station made an easy journey the next day. Excellent value and service

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of Jurys Inn Newcastle.

Our Housekeeping Manager prides herself on the cleanliness of our rooms and is delighted when this is reflected on our guests stay.

I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Newcastle in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Thomas_Carter@juyrsinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Please do not stay at this hotel we arrived in Newcastle for my daughters graduation and were told to park at the back of the hotel which was a 10 minute walk with bags at a charge of £8 after a day in Newcastle we arrived at the bar where we could not charge to our room so no problem I paid by card then later that evening we ordered room service which was great until 5 minutes after we ordered we were demanded to come to reception to pay ???? What was the point of room service which is charged at £4.50 I stay in hotels all the time I have never had service like this all I can say is shambles the manager was no use please do not spoil your time by staying here very very poor

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent experience of Jurys Inn Newcastle.

I am disappointed to read that you had a poor exprience of our staff as we normally receive such excellent feedback regarding their warm and friendly welcome and hospitality, in particular the staff that were on that evening. Looking at your booking an account was not open on arrival so that extra charges could be billed back to your room which is why payment was required upon ordering.

I do hope I can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Newcastle again in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Thomas_Carter@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham City
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed at the hotel on the 29.11.2013 , great welcome at reception , no fuss , the gentleman was very polite and informative , and confirmed his name , and if there were any problems , to speak to him !
The room was great , all you could want , and the shower was fantastic , we stopped in room 531 on the 5th floor , great view !
However it was the staff that made is so welcoming , we were on my works Christmas night out , they called a cab for us and told the driver the destination

The beds were extremely comfortable and all you could wish for a great nights sleep , breakfast was excellent !

I always think it's great to give the staff who try very hard in there jobs , great feedback , can I congratulate you , as our stay was memorable for all the right reasons ! Thankyou.......

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room , great views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words regarding your stay with us here at Jurys Inn Newcastle.

We always endeavour to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable while staying with us and I am delighted that this was reflected on your stay. I will ensure to pass on your comments to Scott who was the receptionist on duty

I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Newcastle in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Thomas_Carter@juyrsinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Reception upon check in were not particularly friendly or efficient.
Off site parking was extortionate.
Room was fine, clean and nice bathroom.
Throughout the night it got unbearably humid.
Pillows were extremely firm and like sleeping on bricks.
Plumbing was very noisy after flushing toilet and constantly noisy throughout.
Very poor night's sleep and very stiff necks in the morning.
Very upsetting as would have liked to stay again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Im dissapointed to hear that you experienced some problems during your stay. Please foward me your reservation details to thomas_carter@jurysinns.com so we can discuss the matter further

Kind Regards

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries and Galloway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night and the overall experience was very good.

Some small niggles that i hope management will deal with, the check inn seemed very busy and although plenty staff on duty, not many seemed keen to be front of house.Please serve the customer before dealing with back office.Breakfast just lacked a little presence and personal attention from staff.

However, these niggles are overshadowed by a top hotel in super central location. We had a great family room with the single bed rather than a camp bed always a sign of class. Breakfast was very relaxed, with plenty of seats and good selection of food on offer.

The hotel is a must stay for central newcastle at a good price including the very handy luggage storage facility.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your review, im glad to hear you enjoyed our city centre location and our breakfast service. Apologies with regards to the check in process, our feedback is normally exceptional so Im dissapointed to hear of this issue.

We look forward to your next visit

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurys Inn Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Newcastle

Address: Scotswood Road | St James Gate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 79 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Newcastle offers great-value accommodation in the very city centre of vibrant Newcastle. The hotel is just 500 metres from Newcastle Rail Station, a short walk from a plethora of shops, bars and restaurants, just a 10 minute walk from Eldon Square and The Gate shopping centres. The Centre for Life science is 200 metres away and Newcastle United Football Club is 900 metres from the hotel. Its excellent city-centre location makes it the ideal place to stay when visiting Newcastle for both business and leisure. Newcastle is known for its vibrant nightlife and has been voted one of the UK's leading destinations for stag and hen parties. The hotel features all day Costa Coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 6pm to 10pm for dinner. Laundry and dry cleaning service is available. If you are arriving by car a nearby public car parking is available at Times Square car park located next door to the hotel. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All rooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi - guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable rooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Newcastle with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, JurysInn, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jurys Inn Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jurys Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.