We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel with variable service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn Newcastle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Jurys Inn Newcastle to your Saves list
Jurys Inn Newcastle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Scotswood Road | St James Gate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Ok hotel with variable service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed two nights on business. Rooms are clean, bathrooms need an upgrade, sound of constantly filling cistern, 1980s shower etc. No air con (the only time that it has been 80F on the Tyne).

The second day the hotel was full, 270 rooms and the breakfast service could not cope. Tables were not cleaned or reset, trays pulled up by guests. 'Everyone's come down at once' said the young girl on the door. Actually the staff just needed to clean the tables and reset them. Rubbish experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann_Bright, Operations Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Jurys Inn Newcastle.

It is disappointing to read that you had some negative issues during your stay. However, I would like to assure you that your comments do not represent our usual high standard of service.

The morning you had breakfast with us we had 3 coach parties staying with us who neglected to stay to their alloted dining times which meant we had over 140 people in addition to our other guests wishing to dine at the same time, putting a strain on our usual smooth breakfast service.

I hope will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Jurys Inn Newcastle in the near future where I am sure you will see a marked improvement on your recent visit.

Kind Regards
Ann Bright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    207
    99
    29
    28
See reviews for
45
128
18
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
south shields
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

recently stayed here with my best friend for a night out in Newcastle. The hotel was lovely and clean with lovely décor. The beds had beautiful crisp white sheets and very comfortable beds. Very pleased with stay. Only slight niggles were we used the provided shower gel ( as we forgot our own) and it was a little difficult to get out of dispenser and was not very foamy, plus the water pressure was not as high as we would have liked. would also have liked a couple of biscuits as we were starving while we got ready. overall I would say this is a fab hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann_Bright, Operations Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Jurys Inn Newcastle.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found the hotel to offer great value for money.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Ann Bright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stay in hotels regularly for business and normally don't take the time to write a review although after my most recent experience I thought I could not let it go un-noticed. The staff really go above and beyond to make sure you are attended to, the breakfast is plentiful and of good quality. I have stayed in the Copthorn, Thistle, Hilton amongst others and this place is poles apart. Baffled this is not a 4* Hotel. Thank you

Room Tip: I stayed on the third floor, bedroom was spacious with both a double and single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights Wednesday to Monday during the heat wave in July 2013 and had a very mixed experience,
The Good
Modern hotel with very central location, efficient and friendly staff, clean room, comfy beds and excellent buffet breakfasts, free Wi-Fi for 2 hours a day and excellent value for money at less than £90 a night double. Food quality in the bar was good too. Various rooms types are available with either 4 foot double beds, king-size doubles and a few twins so make sure you ask for what you need.
The Bad
No air-con in rooms and windows only open partially so that the top 2 floors (6 and 7) were very hot. Over the weekends very noisy groups meant that rooms facing the courtyard even on the top floor had to have windows closed until 4am to avoid the noise and rooms anywhere near the lift shaft (we were 3 rooms distant) suffered from a 3 second noise like a fog-horn every time one lift was used.
So in summary, a good hotel during the week but don't use on Fridays and Saturdays if you want to sleep!

Room Tip: Higher floors can be quieter but can get hot. Outside rooms avoid courtyard noise from revellers at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

A party of 6 adults travelled to Newcastle to go on the famous Curry train and we chose Jury's Inn for the central location. 3 rooms were booked and quite costly so expectations were high. Unfortunately we were all very disappointed. The rooms as advertised were all modernised, which they were but the bathroom was repulsive (see photo) the bath handle rails were all rusty and very dirty. The hotel rooms lack air conditioning, the room must have been at least 30 degrees which was totally unbearable. If we had the window open it sounded as though we were sat on the M6. The beds were meant to be double but were more 3/4 beds. The toilet didnt flush properly either. On arriving back to the hotel room after our meal the hotel was full of stag and hen do's just leaving for the night. After finally falling asleep in the melting heat of the room we was woken about 15 times to stag and hen parties outside if our rooms banging doors and shouting so loudly. Eventually we gave up at 5.40 am to all the noise in the hotel and decided to go for a cool walk outside of the hotel room. The surrounding area of the hotel was covered on broken bottles and blood.....on checking out from the hotel the reception staff never thanked us for our custom or even asked if we had a pleasant stay. There was a lot of complaining couples and older parties who were disgusted with the lack of customer service and hen and stag do's staying at the hotel. Never again will we use a Jury's Inn....big mistake.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The location is good and the building is clean and nice. Other than that - don't go to this hotel.

First we were given the wrong room after I booked a twin. Then we had to queue for about 25 minutes to get back to the front desk (fair enough - hotels get busy) and we had a dinner reservation which we missed. The girl at the desk just told us it wasn't her fault instead of sorting it or offering an apology, and gave us another room key. The room key didn't work. (Apparently this is a common problem there).

The room itself was clean but the room didn't have any air conditioning and on the top floor in July you really need it. There was no fridge in the room either. The bathroom was clean but mediocre, the only toiletries were a bottle of soap attached to the wall.

The other guests were mainly stag and hen parties of the type who get obliterated and stagger around in the lobby punching each other, before racially abusing the staff (this actually happened).

After we came back around 11pm a Neanderthal bouncer wouldn't let us back into the hotel as we only had one room key with us. Finally sorted it out with the front desk who seemed unbothered. Then our room key didn't work (again) and we had to get it changed - twice. Finally they sent the porter up who kicked the door until it worked.

We slept ok but the lack of air conditioning meant it was hot and we had to leave the window open and could hear the hordes of drunken revellers screeching at each other outside all night.

Breakfast was included, and was ok, although if you're an incredibly hungover stag from Leeds who spent the night lying in the Bigg market, it might have seemed like manna from heaven.

None of the staff bothered to ask us how our stay was and we checked out extremely disappointed. I come up to Newcastle regularly, and won't be going back there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann_Bright, Operations Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

We at Jurys Inn Newcastle strive to ensure that all of our customers receive friendly, efficient service in comfortable surroundings. It is obvious from your feedback that during your stay this did not happen and for this I am sorry.

I would like to sincerely apologise for the experienced you encountered while staying with us. I have thoroughly investigated the issues raised and a subsequent meeting has taken place with the team to address the issues that you highlighted. I will also ensure we review our policies and procedures to ensure incidents like these do not occur again in the future.

I do hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Jurys Inn Newcastle, as I am confident you will notice a marked improvement.

If I can be of any further assistance I can be contacted on the below email.

Kind Regards
Ann Bright
ann_bright@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My son and I recently stayed at this hotel as we were going to a concert in Newcastle. The hotel staff were excellent and had us checked in quickly. Room was great although a little warm, breakfast was excellent and checking out was quick and efficient. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurys Inn Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Newcastle

Address: Scotswood Road | St James Gate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 79 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Newcastle offers great-value accommodation in the very city centre of vibrant Newcastle. The hotel is just 500 metres from Newcastle Rail Station, a short walk from a plethora of shops, bars and restaurants, just a 10 minute walk from Eldon Square and The Gate shopping centres. The Centre for Life science is 200 metres away and Newcastle United Football Club is 900 metres from the hotel. Its excellent city-centre location makes it the ideal place to stay when visiting Newcastle for both business and leisure. Newcastle is known for its vibrant nightlife and has been voted one of the UK's leading destinations for stag and hen parties. The hotel features all day Costa Coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 6pm to 10pm for dinner. Laundry and dry cleaning service is available. If you are arriving by car a nearby public car parking is available at Times Square car park located next door to the hotel. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All rooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi - guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable rooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Newcastle with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, JurysInn, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jurys Inn Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jurys Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.