We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   127 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2TB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I had a stay of one night here on Saturday 19 May. I was upgraded from a single to a double, which I appreciated very much, especially as the hotel was almost full. The bed and room were comfortable, and the breakfast was very nice. Also the reception staff were very friendly. Good value for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    75
    23
    14
    6
See reviews for
11
31
28
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
chelmsford
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Stayed here on Saturday night and was appalled. Really drap, rubbish service, rooms in need of a good clean. Ran a bath and a load of what looked like tobacco flew out the taps. Really creaky floorboards ensure no sleep Avoid room 17! Never asked if we would like breakfast or dinner and even the bar was closed. This place is a shambles compared with the Caledonian around the corner. Stay away.
I even contacted the hotel directly on Wwednesday but have yet to hear back from them.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed here in September 2010 and is possible one of the worst hotels I stayed in, in addition to this it was over £100. The hotel smelled a bit like urine and the decor was very dated. The bed was uncomfortable and the television did not work properly. On the upside the breakfast wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Had problems with the parking space. I had to park on a a parallel street, which was quiet a pain.

Rooms were nice and clean. Staff was courteous too.

Breakfast was decent as well, nothing fancy but almost something you would expect.

Got a good deal on the pricing as booked 4 weeks in advance, so wouldn't complain at all :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lanarkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

First impressions werent great to be honest. Driving for almost 3 hours and when I arrived there were only a few parking spaces on the hotel grounds (less than 5 and all taken) so had to drive along the street a few times to find a space that wasnt double-yellowed then walk to the hotel.

Seems nice and warm enough and the staff were really nice and friendly so no issues there. The hotel does not have a lift so be prepared to do some rat maze walking to find your room lol. I had one of the little rooms on the first floor which wasnt too bad but had to walk upstairs and through 3 sets of doors to get there. Got to the room, entered and the window was wide open. I wouldnt have minded but it was absolutely freezing outside and I was hoping to get into a nice warm room, not was the case. Closed the window and looked for thermostat for heating...couldnt find any...all I could find were 2 central heaters in the bathroom so had to leave the door open to get heat built up in the room.

In saying that, those were the not so nice bits but first impressions last and all that. To make up for it though I was impressed with how clean the room was, absolutely no complaints there whatsoever; it was immaculate, including the bathroom and shower areas.

Osborne Road has many restaurants and bars so a 5 minute walk will get you a very enjoyable and social evening of drinks, banter and food.

What really topped it off was the breakfast...there is a cold breakfast buffet, i.e cereals, fruit etc but you could also order a cooked breakfast made to order. I opted for the full English with poached egg and it was simply divine. Really tasty, you could see that it was fresh made and everything was cooked to perfection. Nothing over cooked or under cooked or had been lying under a hot plate....no, the whole breakfast was nice, fresh and really tasty. I wished I had dinner there as well given my experience with breakfast.

Restaurant is not that big but I didn't care about that. It was warm and comfortable with pleasant and helpful staff with amazing food. What more could I have wanted... well...if I had gotten a parking space and a warm bedroom upon checking in then it would have been one of the best hotel stays ever. No joking. I would definitely go again but at least this time I know what to expect and to deal with it to make it more enjoyable and relaxing for me.

Rated it 4 stars because I feel that rating it less would not do justice to the overall experience. A couple of small niggles but overall well pleased and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

My mate and I stayed at this hotel as we were going to a football match. Parking was limited but to be fair we didn't have a problem. Staff polite, freeview tv. Room was clean and the breakfast was very nice but maybe a little expensive. I would definately use this hotel again as we will no doubt come to this part of the world to watch another football match .

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, Glos,UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We enjoyed 4 nights here, visiting our daughter who has just started at The Uni. Room compact but clean and comfortable. Breakfasts good, well presented and freshly cooked.
Great position, close to shops and restaurants. No lift, but stairs are good for you!Prices excellent, and a bottle of house wine in the bar just £10.50. Staff pleasant, helpful and friendly. Will definitely return to this excellent value small hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel

Address: 127 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2TB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, LateRooms, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.