We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Derelict building” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fishermans lodge - CLOSED

Fishermans lodge
Jesmond Dene, Newcastle upon Tyne NE7 7BQ, England
191 680 4350
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Derelict building”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Just in case you were thinking of visiting, I walked past in November and noticed that this old haunt was now derelict and no longer a restaurant.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    0
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A million miles away from its hey day”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I took my friend excited that she was going to enjoy beng dined at the best restaurant in the north east ,... Or at least 6 years ago it was , we arrived at the restaurant and the car park seemed a bit run down, pot holes etc, the front door looked grubby , upon entering , we were asked to sit in the bar area , we waited a long long long time to be asked for drinks and even to see a menu , the drinks eventually arrived and we tried to order as with the service for the drinks being so slow, we feared waiting longer for the food, at this point my friend pointed out that there were cobwebs everywhere , tables were dirty etc, I said dont worry its a great place ...... Our table was dirty and we asked to change , I ordered fish and chips , and when it arrived I smelt it and it was off , a asked the owner to smell it , he said its fine , I looked at him and was in disbelief , are you kidding me ? It was clearly off, I said to him you eat it because I'm not , He apologised profusely and took the meal off my bill, but needless to say we won't be going back

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Let down again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We had bought a groupon voucher and had planned to go for a birthday meal two weeks ago, bearing in mind we were booked in for 7 o'clock we recieved a phone call at quarter past 5 just as we were getting ready to say the chef had got drunk and walked out so dinner service was cancelled! The manager was very apologetic and told us we could rebook for any date and would be getting a 'free gesture' which we assumed would be complementary drinks...however we haven't been able to find out as we had re-booked for today and receieved a phone call at 2 o'clock saying dinner service was cancelled again due to a gas leak! We found the manager much less pleasant on the phone today, he sounded like he didn't care one way or the other but suggested we can rebook again or try and get a refund from Groupon. Needless to say we will be asking for our money back!! Of course we can't comment on the food having been cancelled twice, but the Fishermans lodge comes across as an absolute joke, very poorly managed and has made us feel like a second class citizen for booking with a Groupon voucher. I would never recommend this restaurant for that reason alone and if the last few reviews about the awful food are to be believed we haven't missed much anyway! Just hope we can get a refund from Groupon for this dissapointing waste of time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We took advantage of a groupon or similar deal for afternoon tea last weekend and regretted it enormously.

I gather the restaurant gets excellent reviews for quality etc but I can't equate that with what we were served. The tea was fine and a quality blend, though a second pot seemed to have just had water added and was awful!

The food content was not even worth the discount value and I'd certainly not pay a full price. Sandwiches were a tasteless white bread with dry ham and a scraping of whatever relish or chutney; so little was there that you couldn't tell what it was.

If the scones were the test of the chef's mettle, then I suggest he look for another career! Very small, heavy and flavourless served with nice cream and a tiny amount of jam.

Most of the cakes were shop bought - and probably Aldi or worse and certainly not worth the calories!

I'm glad we'd not opted for the more expensive Champagne tea as the ladies behind us had. It seems that the main waitress had to do a dash to the shops as they'd run out of Champagne! Maybe the Sommelier had had a week (or month) off - there's no excuse for a restaurant of any quality to run out of wines!

As it is I shall not even bother to try the restaurant - the service and food quality was so far below what even a local cafe can produce. The fact that the wallpaper was also peeling off suggested that the Fisherman's Lodge has seen better days; judging by the food it won't see them again in future.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quaintessentially English Afternoon Tea? No, essentially horrendous!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

My sister booked afternoon tea for my birthday which was a lovely idea. We arrived to a Strange atmosphere and got shown into a dining area with deathly supply of ambience!! Two couples were there and looked disgusted with their afternoon tea. We got our pot if tea to start and it was revolting in taste , like TCP! The cups were like NHS cups and not a piece of china in sight! We waited 30 mins and still hadn't been served . In the meantime we noticed the grimaces from one couple as to what they were eating so I ( having waited to be served for ages!!) asked if things were ok,
. They said the food was inedible!! The scone was like a flat biscuit and hard !!! I couldn't believe what I was looking at!! The sandwiches... Processed cheese and other poor fillings, also mainly bread!! The 'cake' was a quarter of an iced bun crudely cut!!!!! It was an unbelievable sight! To cut a long story short, we refused to eat there and we eventually got a face to face with the manager who was covered in flour and looked like he was on verge of a breakdown!!! He said he hated group on and there was problems with the chef!!!!!!!!!! He was absolutely dreadful and no apology! Some customer rang the police when no refund was offered ( out of sheer exasperation!!!). I gave never, ever had an experience like it! HORRENDOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Even now, back at home , I am still reeling from it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishermans lodge also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fishermans lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.