We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice venue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Stand Comedy Club

The Stand Comedy Club
31 Highbridge St, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1 EW, England
0191 232 1410
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Comedy Clubs, Clubs
Attraction details
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice venue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Nice venue, but really really hot during the performance, to the point where I (at 8 months pregnant) had to stand out in the hall way as I thought I was going to pass out. It wasn't just me though, everyone was hot. The air con came on for the headlining act and it cooled right down quite quickly which was a welcome relief. One thing that annoys me is the £2 booking fee. I don't understand how or why it costs an extra £2 to book tickets online. Ok if I had called up and an booked through an agent. but I do all the work booking the tickets, then have to pay the venue for it? Doesn't make sense.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    42
    7
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nearly as hilarious as their rules!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Great spot. Get there early. Eat upstairs in restaurant. Far nicer but were booked up so make a reservation. Limited bar downstairs and food nice but tables small for eating. Potato wedges most popular. Don't be fooled by the extras offer if you spend a certain amount. None came ! The acts were all without exception brilliant. Staff nice but be prepared for rules at every turn and written repeatedly all over the walls, repeated by compare, and reminders on entry. They are obsessive about moving you chair even an inch. Makes you want to move your chair just to get a reaction. They are constantly watching. Beware!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham uk
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“I'm judging the venue not the performers!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Went to see Australian standup Steve Hughes,who as ever was extremely enlightening and hilarious,the venue however was a big let down. There were several problems with our evening but the main one was temperature. Everything was fine until half way through the warm up act when suddenly the AC ducting began to blow cool air on the audience,this on an already cold autumn night,led to a wave of shivering and mumbleing about said lack of heat,and just about everybody there watched the performance with jackets and scarves on.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best comedy venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I love the stand. Nice food with an unusual selection plus great beer and spirits on offer. Comedy downstairs with no hen or stag parties allowed makes for a chilled and lovely vibe. Pleasingly slightly grungy place which I like!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Epic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Went last night to see Stephen K Amos, cracking show, the staff and service are great will definitely be back soon but next time will have some food off the ginger chef!!! Top night out GO There !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stand Comedy Club also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Stand Comedy Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stand Comedy Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.