We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best breakfast I've ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay Ingredient

Quay Ingredient
4 Queen street | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne ne1 3ug, England
0191 4472327
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The best breakfast I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

This little cafe underneath the tyne bridge does possibly the best Eggs Benedict I've ever had in my life. I've visited a few times and it is clear that on a weekend it can get a little busy however, that just reflects the excellent reputation that this establishment has.
The service as well as the food is second to none, there is a wonderful atmosphere and the lady who owns the cafe is possibly the most cheerful women I've ever met!
Although it is a little pricey, I would say it is worth every single penny!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    73
    36
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best full Breakfast in Newcastle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Quite simply the best breakfast Ive ever had. I went for the full english and a latte and whilst it cost the think end of £10 it was worth every penny. Great service and fabulous ingredients. Whilst it was only a breakfast it was superb. Its a lovely little spot, always busy and very small. If you can get a seat your lucky. Cant wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I found this place through Trip Advisor reviews and it was convenient for where we stayed on our weekend trip to Newcastle. Myself and a friend went for brunch on Sunday (around 12pm) and the place was full but we were able to perch on 2 bar stools at the counter until a table came available - we'd have been prepared to eat there too but the waitress made sure we got the next available table. I've read a few reviews where people have complained about the speed of service but this is not a fast food cafe - take the newspaper, grab a coffee and chill out!! The food is cooked to order which you can see as the kitchen is open to the restaurant. The quality of produce was good, we had an eggs benedict and a bacon, sausage and fried egg breakfast roll followed by a flapjack each which was devine. I don't think I've been in a cafe with such a warm friendly welcome before! I'll definitely be back next time I'm in the toon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, England
1 review
“Great little find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Found this place thanks to reviews on TripAdvisor and am glad I did. Lovely service and the food was lovely. Nice fresh tasting food cooked well. Will be coming again tomorrow!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best coffee on the quayside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Great place to stop off on my way to town in the morning. Lovely coffee and a great standard of food.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quay Ingredient also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Quay Ingredient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay Ingredient, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.