We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay Ingredient

Quay Ingredient
4 Queen street | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne ne1 3ug, England
0191 4472327
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We woke up early for breakfast and were disappointed that the place we wanted to go wasnt open until later. Thankfully a combination of Google and trip advisor found this place and what a find! A lovely little cafe with accomodating staff. My sausage sandwich was delicious and make with stottie cake! However, I had major food envy when my friends eggs Florentine looked amazing! The queue out of the door when we left was testament to the fantastic place that it is. Definitely a place to go!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    73
    36
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Exactly what a class cafe should be, busy, comfortable, fantastically friendly and perfect food. Eggs benedict with Parma ham, wow, never had better. What a find, many thanks Tripadvisor folks, we visited because you put it at the top, how right you were.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Truely scrumptious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

This little eatery (emphasis on the little) is such a great find.

The cafe is tucked round the back of the quay side and has a quiet, chilled out feel, great for a sore head Saturday morning.

The lady that serves is very friendly and u can see the chef cooking in the kitchen. We ordered a full English (yummy sausage) and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. The eggs were buttery and well seasoned and a good quality bit of fish.

Lovely! Ill defo be coming back...u should too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullercoats, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food - Worth the Wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Quay Ingredient is a small place, with limited seating, but is No 1 restaurant in Newcastle, a city of 900,000 people (June 2013)! At peak times you may have to wait to bag the comfy sofa in the window - but just wait because the food it well worth it!

We have been a few times now, breakfast twice and the rest have been brunch/lunch. The owner is lovely and really chatty, how she has the energy to keep going at the pace she does is a mystery! Every time we visit she exchanges a few words.

As for the food, my favourite menu items are the homemade corned beef, homemade mini pastries and the English breakfast. I have also had a nice sweet potato soup from here too. Always cooked and served perfectly. They make great coffee too, which is becoming less and less common these days for some reason!

Quay Ingredient - small, but perfectly formed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“They do breakfast very well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Went here for breakfast and they do breakfast very well. I had great full English, whilst the pancakes and smoked salmon and scrambled eggs ordered by the rest of my table also looked great. Two of us ordered tea and instead of bringing a huge pot we were given a pot for two, with a second fresh one brought along once we’d finished the first, so all the tea we drink was piping hot – good thinking and very considerate. It’s an easy to find place as it’s right under the Tyne bridge.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quay Ingredient also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Quay Ingredient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay Ingredient, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.