We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Siam

The Old Siam
1 -3 Side, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3JE, England
0191 261 5590
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Had a really, really good Salmon Chu Chee - full of flavour and great texture. Really nice! Mixed started was very good too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    121
    33
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“WOW WOW WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This place is a little gem!!

We visited today, 28th June 2013 and had originally booked for three but had to change to two at the last minute and they were most accommodating.

The restaurant it self is petite but perfectly formed, plenty of space and the atmosphere is great, the lovely music playing in the background, the lovely seating and the wall art all looked great. The table wear was really good too, if anything the table was a little small the amount of food ua greedy two ordered.

The staff are awesome, such a warm welcome and so polite and friendly, cannot do enough for you, constantly seeing if you need water topped up without asking, replacing little things like napkins and providing a water bowl for hands when they can see you need them. Just seems to flow perfectly.

The food is the best selling point of this place, the prawn crackers are delicious!!

We ordered the fish cakes and veg spring rolls and tiger prawns as starter and they were fantastic!! The perfect balance of flavour was great and the sauces they make for dipping are like nothing I've ever tasted, so fresh and not over powering.

Prawns are huge too.

We both ordered Thai green curry and on of us wanted a little less spice and they happily obliged, we had some rice and noodles too and it was amazing!! Flavour flavour flavour!! Perfectly balanced and juicy meat, this is the real taste of Thailand.

We literally didn't have any room left for dessert but the lemon sorbet looked fab and would have been our choice. We took away the takeaway menu leaflet as we will be returning for sure.

The price is great, the amount of food we ate was crazy for the price!!

Keep up the fantastic work.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Really good Thai food on the quayside.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I recently visited the Old Siam on a night out with some work colleagues and I have to say I was really impressed.

I had the fish cakes for starters which came with an amazing dipping sauce and pinched one of my friend's spring rolls which were lovely and crispy. For main course I had a beef, chilli and cashew nut dish, which was absolutely divine - although could possibly have had a little bit more chilli.

Service was good too. All the waitresses were very attentive and were happy with some of the group's requests for milder versions of some of the dishes.

Would definitely return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Total find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Myself and my husband had dinner here on a sunday evening and it was one of the nicest Thai meals I have had outside of Thailand. It really was spot on. We opted for the set meal for 2 option B and everything on the table was amazing. If your looking for amazing Thai food in the north east this is a place to go the staff were lovely and so friendly and the place itself was spotless.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A rare place in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I have been twice so far. Consistent. Great service. Great food. Relaxing atmosphere. The servings are filling.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Siam also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Old Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Siam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.