We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stadium” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St James' Park

St James' Park
Barrack Road | Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4ST, England
+44 844 372 1892
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Delve into Newcastle United's history all the way back to the late 1800s by joining us on a tour of the iconic St James' Park. Accompanied by a tour guide you will visit areas of the ground reserved for players and officials only, including the Home Dressing Room, Media Suite, Director's Box, and more. Tours last approximately 90 minutes, and run daily at 11.30, 12.30, And 14.30, At a cost of £15 an adult, £12 a concession, and £8 a junior.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Stadium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Watched my team get beat at this stadium. Cannot fault the geordie fans, they were great fun and had plenty of banter. Stadium and it facilities first class.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    124
    21
    9
    26
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“rockingly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

no place like it... from the day I walked in with my son for his first match at SJP it has been our home from home. It brings all the joy and excitement, all the pain and disappointment.... it is a theatre of dreams and nightmares... on a good day - totally awesome. If you are not a fan it is still worth a tour round the ground which incorporates both old and new stands, a view to the North Sea and history of this fascinating club

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fulham Fan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I've been to St. James' three times and I've been lucky enough to see us register two wins and a draw which is fantastic considering our away record. There's no words to describe that view from the away end, high up in the clouds, a wonderful view over the city, that lovely wind brushing through the stadium and what usely is a great atmosphere.

Personally, it's my fave ground in the country other than The Cottage.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownabbey, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Went out of their way for me.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Was the only one who turned up for the 11 O'Clock tour. Despite this I was given a personal tour by a very nice and knowledgable tour guide who went by the name of John. Had an excellent experience and was shown all the main parts of the stadium tour. Would just like to register my profound thanks here and recommend the tour to anyone with even a passing interest in football. The whole thing made my day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
70 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Newcastle institution and one of the temples of English football”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Very modern stadium, one of the largest in the UK but despite that the history is still very much alive and present. The Sir Bobby Robson suite is heartening and a perfect tribute to the greatest England football manager of my generation as are his family seats in the stadium. The Magpie restaurant does nice Sunday roasts too. Definitely worth a visit if you're a football fan.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St James' Park also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to St James' Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St James' Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.