We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Return Again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Newcastle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Newcastle to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Newcastle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cobalt Business Park | West Allotment, Newcastle upon Tyne NE27 0BY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Will Return Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for two days in December....was a very nice hotel, staff were very accommodating and leisure facilities were excellent....about 20 mins in car from City Centre...will defo stay here again!!!!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    21
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
20
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here about 5 years ago and the hotel hasn't changed much since. The rooms are ok, and the location is good if you need to be near Cobalt. The facilities are good but the hotel has a tired feel to it. The room was quite pricey and some of the staff weren't as friendly or efficient as I would have liked. Got to say that I prefer staying at premier inns than the village chains, certainly compared to this one. This hotel is okay if you are staying for just one night, wouldn't want to stay any longer.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Rooms are a good size, clean and tidy. Breakfast was nice and the catering staff friendly and helpful. Great gym, swimming pool and facilities. My only complaint is that the bar is very loud and you can hear it even if your bedroom is on 3rd floor so no chance of getting to sleep before midnight due to the loud music vibrating up through from the reception. Would definitely recommend and will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for the 1st time this week it was an ok place a bit dated in some aspects ie I was surprised to receive a key, it could do with a refresh, that said we had a great meal in the Italian restaurant which catered brilliantly for our requirements. Breakfast was ok nothing to write home about a typical style for this type of hotel with a good range of options.
The beds where very comfy and the allergy resistant pillows where soft but hard, quite strange really like laying on a blown up pillow. I wouldn't ask for them again will risk the feather ones !!!!!!
Would we stay again yes, it is in a good location a short drive from the silver way retail park and well positioned fro travelling to places around the area.

All the staff where very help full and friendly I'm sure its a Northern thing though :)

Room Tip: book cheap as possible on line and upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, UK
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here on a Sunday evening ahead of a business meeting first thing the following morning on the Cobalt Business Park.

From a location perspective it was perfect. Easy to get to, close to where I needed to be and with a large free car park.

Being a Sunday night just a couple of weeks before Christmas there was a Christmas party in full swing when i arrived thus the lobby was full of drunk people in fancy dress. The young lad on the check in desk was clearly snowed under however check in was fine and he did point out my room would be at the other end of the hotel to the festivities.

I ate in the on site Italian restaurant which served pizza and pasta. The food was OK and the price was fine. I then retired to the bar (styled very much like a pub) to meet a colleague for a couple of drinks.

We did try sitting in the lobby area but it was full of families and kids running around making huge amounts of noise. On top of this lads from the party were sitting around in the lobby waiting for taxis and being rather loud in the process.

Even though the language was rather colourful and this was the main reception area of the hotel, the staff did not ask them to tone it down in any way.

My room was large however felt a bit bare and tired. I did however get a good nights sleep and for the money paid, I can't complain.

So this hotel is for families and leisure travellers and for that, it works well.

As a business traveller however this is not somewhere to chill at the end of a long day and is not the sort of place to meet up with business colleagues

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my partner have stayed here many times and would always rate the village a 10/10. The rooms are very clean and spacious, staff are polite and helpful and the food is lovely. Best place we've stayed in Newcastle by far.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P, Guest Relations Manager at Village Urban Resort Newcastle, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Amykp

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review about Village Urban Resort Newcastle.

We are v.happy that you have stayed on so many occasions and have food the staff polite and helpful.
Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a brilliant time and food was excellent in the Italian restaurant. Staff friendly and helpful. Only downsides really were tepid shower and spa not very luxurious as there were childrens swimming lessons taking place. Massage very good though.
Comfy beds and lovely breakfast though and we will definitely return.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Dalus, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Newcastle, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Vicki B,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review about the hotel and its facilities.

It's pleasing to know that you found the staff to be really friendly, the meal in our Italian restaurant ‘excellent’ and your Spa treatment ‘brilliant’.

I have passed on your feedback regarding the shower in the Spa to the maintenance manager who has confirmed this is now up to temperature.

Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Jason
jason.dalus@village-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Newcastle

Address: Cobalt Business Park | West Allotment, Newcastle upon Tyne NE27 0BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Urban Resort Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Newcastle is ideally located to enjoy the full range of attractions in a vibrant city of Newcastle and just 4 miles from the coast. Sample the famous nightlife, or step back in time to one of the many historical attractions such as the Medieval Castle or Tyne Bridge. Newcastle also has it all on the cultural front, offering a range of art galleries, such as the new world class Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art. Village Urban Resort Newcastle has 157 stylish bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, an Urban Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Village Urban Resort Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Village Hotel And Leisure Newcastle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.