We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hen Party Weekend 11-13th January 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Newcastle

Save Saved
You added Village Urban Resort Newcastle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Urban Resort Newcastle
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cobalt Business Park | West Allotment, Newcastle upon Tyne NE27 0BY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hen Party Weekend 11-13th January 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

20 of us stayed at the Village Hotel for 2 nights, and what an enjoyable stay it was! Check in was very easy, receptionists are happy and helpful. All our rooms were on the top floor, nicely decorated, clean, and had comfy beds. We dined in the Italian on Friday night, the waitress looking after us was wonderful, she couldn't do enough and even gave us a discount! Unfortunately, the food came about a bit slow, maybe this was because there were so many of us? Breakfast buffet was good, bit disapointed there were no hash browns though! But everything was fresh and hot. Pool area is nice, a bit busy, but it was a Saturday and is open to members of the public, so can't really complain with that one. You can get beach style towels from the gym reception for the pool. Tip - take a pound coin with you for the changing room lockers! Few of the girls had back massages in the spa, they found it very relaxing, so thumbs up from them! We hit the City of Newcastle on the Saturday night, Taxi was about £16 to take us outside revolution (not bad considering the hotel is on the outskirts). Starbucks in the hotel reception area is a nice touch, I visited a couple of times for a fruit smoothie. All in all, a reasonable priced, comfortable hotel. Not the ritz, but not a dump either!! Good choice ladies!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageManagement, Manager at Village Urban Resort Newcastle, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you very much for such a comprehensive review, it certainly sounds like you enjoyed yourselves and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    195
    123
    59
    34
See reviews for
110
175
22
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keswick UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

It's got the usual advantages of a Village establishment - good gym/sauna facility and clean, well-furbished rooms and public areas. Too far (and too late by the time I arrived) to use it as a base for City eating so stayed in. Had imagined it to be Newcastle, but it's a relatively isolated business park setting, as often the case with Village. The Italian is well-presented and could pass by decor for the authentic article but menu and my choices were not memorable. service was pleasant and willing but forgetful re. orders the usual score with teenage part-time staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageManagement, Manager at Village Urban Resort Newcastle, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks for your review, I'm sorry that you didn't get the chance to utilise the facilities during your stay. We are located on a business park on the outskirts of Newcastle and as such the hotel is extremely busy and popular with business and leisure guests alike. I do hope we see you again soon so that you can experience the full Village offering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over the Xmas and new year period on a 2 day special break which included dinner on the first night. We are familiar with the hotel and have stayed a few times when visiting the area, however we had never eaten in the restuarant. Check in was swift as usual and staff friendly. The rooms (2 booked) were clean and well equipped. The restuarant was a real let down. The food was very bland and of average standard, I was pleased I was not physically paying for it as it would have aggrieved me. Even the kids left their desserts, the tiramisu must have been brought straight from the freezer. I did complain and the waitress did say she would speak to the chef but he never emerged. I also agree with other reviews that the victory pub food is very poor and the tables not cleared very quickly. It is a shame that these 2 parts of the hotel let down what is otherwise in my opinion a good hotel

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageManagement, Manager at Village Urban Resort Newcastle, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay on the whole and that you received a warm welcome. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your Buca experience and I will pass your feedback onto our dining outlets and Head Chef. I do hope we see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, lovely breakfast served in a small room downstairs next to the gym... Only used for breakfast. The pool areas and saunas were the same as most village hotels.
The room was the usual standard room clean and well presented, the view was of a car park, allotments and a flat roof not the best but it was only one night.
The staff were very friendly and check in took less than 5 minutes. The only down side to this hotel is we're it is... Miles from anything!
There was only the Italian restaurant and the pub, it needs more eating options it should be using the breakfast room as another alternative for eating as it's so far out from any other amenities.
I would stop here again but not as a base for Newcastle.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageManagement, Manager at Village Urban Resort Newcastle, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thanks for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that the team looked after you. We aren't centrally located to the city but access routes and transport links are very good and being a litte further out means that we can offer excellent value for money. I hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here for the second time - just for 1 night this time. Nice clean room (165). Only negative was you could here people moving about on the floor above. Other than that fine. Breakfast was good and liked the fact they had peanut butter too - don't see that very often in hotels!

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room with an empty room above as I could hear people moving about on the floor abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageManagement, Manager at Village Urban Resort Newcastle, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that you made the most of our breakfast offerings, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We recently stayed here for 3 nights whilst visiting family. The hotel is located approximately15 minutes drive out of the city centre with ample car parking. Our room was quite spacious, modern and clean, with iron and extra pillows, if required. The only negative was the room lighting which was poor for reading or tasks. As with many chain hotels we could hear overhead footsteps and corridor doors closing. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful with a good choice of cereal, yoghurt,eggs, fruit, as well as a cooked breakfast. The reception areas were "family friendly". We didn't eat in the restaruant or bars. Overall, a value for money family hotel which we would use again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageManagement, Manager at Village Urban Resort Newcastle, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks for your review, it's great to hear that the team looked after you. I have noted your comment about the bedroom lighting. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

A perfect hotel for business travel - good gym/pool, nice pub that servies a decent burger, good all you can eat breakfast. The rooms are modern and beds comfy. A starbucks in the morning if no time for breakfast.

I did try the Italian place in the hotel - it was pretty gross and I would not eat there again given how much nicer the pub food was.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageManagement, Manager at Village Urban Resort Newcastle, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us. It's a shame you didn't enjoy your restaurant meal, but it's good that you like the pub. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Village Urban Resort Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Newcastle

Address: Cobalt Business Park | West Allotment, Newcastle upon Tyne NE27 0BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 77 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Urban Resort Newcastle 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Newcastle is ideally located to enjoy the full range of attractions in a vibrant city of Newcastle and just 4 miles from the coast. Sample the famous nightlife, or step back in time to one of the many historical attractions such as the Medieval Castle or Tyne Bridge. Newcastle also has it all on the cultural front, offering a range of art galleries, such as the new world class Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art. Village Urban Resort Newcastle has 157 stylish bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, an Urban Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Village Urban Resort Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Village Hotel And Leisure Newcastle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.