We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Newcastle to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Notts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Fantastic hotel, great location. 5 minutes walk from the station, 2 minutes walk to the nearest bar. Modern and clean hotel rooms, nice touch with the complimentary drinks in the mini bar. A warm welcome from Rachel on reception, who asked us about our plans for the day and then checked if we'd had a good time when we checked out the following day. Can't fault it.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hello CheleNotts,

Thank you for the great review! I will ensure Rachel is passed on your kind words. We hope to provide you with another warm welcome in the near future!

Kind regards,
Paul Borg- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    322
    77
    12
    6
See reviews for
94
552
50
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whyteleafe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Arrived looking rather bedraggled after walking for hours in the rain but the receptionist made us feel truly looked after and explained patiently what the facilities were and what we had to do etc. The room was lovely and well appointed with a decent sized telly with Sky (if this is important). Had a meal in the Marco Pierre White restaurant the steak was excellent though the vintage of the Malbec was three years younger than advertised on the wine list. Drinks in the bar were most welcome and the atmosphere was relaxed in an elegant way. Checkout was handled by the same receptionist after 4 hours sleep who again was professional and polite.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hello Martin,

It is great to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. I will speak to the Bar Manager regarding the wine list to ensure that all descriptions match the products provided. This feedback does help to prevent similar issues. I can guarantee that you will always be greeted with a cheerful receptionist no matter what time you check in and out on your next stay!

Kindest regards,
Paul Borg- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Modern boutique hotel in a good position in the city centre. Staff were very friendly and check in check out efficient. The room was very clean & more than big enough the free mini bar containing water, soft drinks, chocolate & crisps was an unexpected bonus. The only thing that was a bit disappointing was the full english breakfast which could have been better cooked however the smoked salmon Benedict I had on the second morning was delicious. All in all the hotel made a business trip a lot more bearable

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Good morning Cathryn,

Many thanks for your review. I am pleased to see you had enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry to hear that breakfast on the first morning was not to your standard, reviews for the restaurant are very high so I can assure you this will not be a regular occurance on your next stay with us.

I hope to see you again soon on a future business trip.

Kindest regards,
Paul Borg- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I recently visited this hotel with my partner for a special birthday celebration and was not disappointed. Our room was upgraded to include a balcony and being on the fourth floor was very quiet. The staff were very polite and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
The only downside was the restaurant which operates under the Marco Pierre White name and as a result is a little more expensive than a standard in-house operation. It would be acceptable if the standard of food and the complete dining experience was that much better than average, but unfortunately that is not the case. The food quality and presentation is good but not exceptional and the absence of any dress code for dinner, allows diners to wear jeans,t-shirts,etc. which reduces the overall experience to average. Fortunately, there is an excellent Italian restaurant across the road from the hotel and many other good eateries within easy reach.

Room Tip: The fourth floor is very quiet and most rooms have a balcony. Ask to be upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hello Frank,

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us overall, although left slightly disapointed by the restaurant experience. All feedback is taken into account and we do hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest regards,
Paul Borg- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The hotel is extremely well positioned near to the station and city centre, yet on a reasonably quiet road. The furnishings are very bright and not particularly welcoming but the greeting of the staff certainly is. I found the atmosphere a bit cold. I had a suite on the 4th floor with a corner balcony. There isn't much to see but it is nice to have a balcony, though not at all private. The suite was quite small with again quite garish furnishings. Everything however was clean and the bathroom was modern and adequate. The bed was a little hard for me, as were the pillows and there were some very noisy people in the adjacent rooms, plus the lift can be heard pinging as it reaches the floor. The standards are good, but the interior wasn't quite to my taste. A pleasant but not mind blowing stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hello Kate,

I appreciate the time given for the kind review. I am sorry to hear that the interior did not take to your fancy, but relieved to know that the service made up for this. I do hope the location and service will be enough to have you stay with us in the future!

Kindest regards,
Paul Borg- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. The staff on reception were very welcoming and friendly at both check-in and check-out which made a big difference to our stay. The room was spacious and clean. Nice touches to have dressing gowns and complimentary mini bar (albeit it soft drinks!). Great to have car parking underneath hotel and to be within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Nice breakfast although make sure you go for a rate that includes breakfast as prices looked pretty high. Overall a good hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hello hols201,

I'm delighted to hear you had a great stay with us and received excellent service from check in to check out. Thanks for the review, we hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards,
Paul Borg- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Me and my partner stayed here in July for Newcastle's gay pride, The location is perfect its right next to the gate and the gay scene (pink triangle) the hotel itself is very modern and 'posh' feel to it, lovely staff and very clean and gorgeous rooms! 5 stars!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Good evening GreggandDean,

Thanks for your great review and photos. I am pleased the location suited you perfectly! We hope you do choose to stay with us again when you are next in Newcastle.

Kindest regards,
Paul Borg- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 81 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.