We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location ,service,atmosphere all in one excellent place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Newcastle to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Location ,service,atmosphere all in one excellent place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

A short stay in newcastle made very enjoyable when your choice of hotel is so positive. We enjoyed our stay so much here that we will definitely return and stay in the Indigo too. A great location good professional staff , excellent rooms, lovely chill out reception bar also. I have no problem recommending this location as a place to stay , enjoy !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hi Lloydprend,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review. I am so happy that you will be returning to Hotel Indigo Newcastle.
Why not like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter for all the latest offers and information about the hotel?
Look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Kind Regards,

Adam Munday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    301
    73
    11
    4
See reviews for
90
515
47
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed here on business for a night in August.

The check in was fast and without fuss. The room was clean and well laid out. Breakfast went smoothly and was of good quality. Check out was uneventful. Only slight moan was the parking facilities. Finding the hotel wasn't easy even with sav nav because of road works some local roads were closed. All of the on road parking is just 1 hour. None of this the fault of the hotel but nevertheless I arrived slightly more stressed than I should I have.

All in all it was just what you would want from a business stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hi Steve H,

Thank for the wonderful review.
It is unfortunate that you had trouble finding us, but i am glad you did. At Hotel Indigo Newcastle we have our own private car park offering over 80 spaces on two levels, so the next time you stay if you would like to be directed to the car park then please ask at Reception and we will be more than happy to help.
Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Adam Munday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

All in all this is the best place to stay in Newcastle, especially if you are travelling by train, as it is an easy walk from the rail station. Also close to all the main shopping areas, museums and galleries. We were celebrating a special occasion and complimentary champagne arrived within minutes of check in, so we were made to feel very welcome!! The top floor rooms have furnished balconies and the corner room has view over the roof tops to the Tyne Bridge (just!). The complimentary minibar with wine and beer is a very nice touch.The hotel had an Ashes cricket tour group in on our first night and breakfast service was limited to the buffet. Second morning was better with a full fresh cooked menu available. The rooms are modern, and well equipped, but for the money a bath might be expected? The view from the restaurant is sadly limited to the waste-bins of the building across the road, a pity for such an upmarket experience as the Marco Pierre White badged dining room, which has splendid menu and service. Final praise goes to the staff who are excellent in all departments of this very good hotel.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the top floor corner room with balcony - it is worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hi malcsaville,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review.
I shall pass on your praise to all members of staff and thank them personally. Why not keep in touch with us via Twitter and Facebook for all the latest deals and information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle?

Kind Regards,

Adam Munday,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I've stayed here on numerous visits to Newcastle and have never been disappointed. The rooms are very modern, stylish and comfortable with the hotel itself being ideally situated for city centre sightseeing, shopping, cinemas, restaurants and central station , including metro access. The staff are all very friendly and accommodating - this is always my first choice when visiting the city.

Room Tip: All the rooms are colour co-ordinated so request a particular colour scheme if you have a preference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hi Yvee03,

Many thanks for the excellent review.
I am extremely happy that you choose Hotel Indigo Newcastle, and we never disappoint you! We can't wait to have you stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Adam Munday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swaledale
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

What a great hotel this is ,just stayed for a second time and it was brilliant.rooms are lovely,staff are what sets this hotel part for their friendliness and can do attitude.
We have been in catering many years and have worked in some of the best hotels in this country and this places just does everything simply but with great quality.
The marco Pierre white restaurant is great,very simple menu but executed very well,apart from my spinach a la creme which was missing the bacon and seasoning.but hey this was one side dish as part of a table of five celebrating our daughters 18 th and everything else was brill.
Cannot recommend enough
Go and stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hi adeandgill,

Thank you very much for your great feedback, we really do appreciate it. Hopefully we will wow you for the third time on your next visit!

Kind regards,

Adam Munday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great city centre hotel, a 2 minute walk from the train station. Staff both in reception and in the restaurant at breakfast were excellent. Rooms are great - huge comfy bed, desk, great decor and top notch walk in shower. Complimentary soft drinks, crisps and chocolate in room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hi rezzerr,

Thank you for your great review, we would love to have you back with us again soon.

Kind regards,

Adam Munday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

My son has just returned from a weekend stay at Hotel Indigo. He had planned to propose to his girlfriend & the hotel staff all played a part in making his plans become a reality. Having looked at several hotels in Newcastle, this hotel stood out by a mile, so he went ahead and booked it, telling them of his intentions. They could not have been any more helpful or friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The second night of their stay, they ate in Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, which was fabulous, with the chef going to the trouble of creating a special "Congratulations" desert for them. ...... Nice touch. They weren't aware of the complimentary items in the minibar, or they would have really enjoyed that additional touch !! Breakfast was included, in his room rate, and was also fresh & of excellent quality with cooked eggs, omelettes etc being made to order.

The only one thing that seemed a bit ' out of character' was that on checking out the receptionist told him( in front of his new fiancee) that he would have to pay £5 for the rose petals that he had arranged for the proposal night. All be it she appeared to be quite embarrassed to be asking for the money, so perhaps she had been the unlucky one instructed to do it. Having pre paid for the room, champagne, the additional spend of champagne being purchased by family members by phone. Then a meal for 4 people in the Marco Pierre White Steakhouse & plenty of drinks/cocktails in the bar on both nights, it just seemed a bit mean to ask for the small amount of £5 for rose petals after spending so much. I would have thought the Hotel would have let the rose peals go as a complimentary item, in the circumstances. It was more the principle, than the £5 but not really a big issue.

That small detail aside, Hotel Indigo is a fantastic addition to Newcastle, classy accommodation, upmarket toiletries, excellent food & first class staff and service. It is a real gem of a hotel & will not hesitate to return.We wish you luck & send thanks for a fabulous stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hi stephenrogers119,

Thank you for your feedback we will certainly take what you said on board. I am very happy to learn your son enjoyed the overall service of his stay.

Kind regards,

Adam Munday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 79 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.