We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Newcastle to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here as part of a big group back in may, The location of the hotel is perfect, Within walking distance of the train station and all the main shopping and bars. The rooms were stunning and the showers were great. Thought the staff at the hotel and dealt with any issuses quickly. Think the free mini bar in the rooms is a nice touch, Although only one bag of crisps and one kitkat for a room that sleeps 2 people? We didnt opt for the breakfast at the hotel as there is a whetherspoons on the doorstep of the hotel, much cheaper!

Room Tip: No complaints with any rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi Kozzie_Lumps,

Thank you for your feedback, we are happy to learn you enjoyed your group visit so much!

Kind regards,

Adam Munday,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    344
    81
    12
    7
See reviews for
100
581
54
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This really is a great boutique hotel and the room i stayed in was fitted out to a high standard and seemed almost new.
Greeting from hotel staff was second to none despite the fact that the area was buzzing due to a 'cheap champagne' promotion which me and my husband quickly took up.
Little things like Kindle left in room and access to a balcony were a nice touch...and a visit to Marco PW's brasserie just topped off the experience.
Would most certainly recommend.

Room Tip: For a small extra charge you can get a balcony on the 4th floor - wonderful place to sip champagne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi Terry M,

Thanks for recommending us! I would love to see you again soon, please feel free to follow us on Twitter or check out our website before booking to find out which of our great deals and promotions suit you best.

Kind regards,

Adam Munday,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice hotel. Modern tasteful decor. Small bedroom and very noisy street. (Was overlooking front of hotel.) Broken kettle and nowhere to plug I. Where located? Came back for a relaxing drink in bar after going to concert and was overtaken by guitar and singers having impromptu jam..... Noisy and annoying and no staff stopped them. Ruined our evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi B T,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am sorry if you did not enjoy the live entertainment we provided for our guests on the night of your stay. If you have any concerns about noise or if you feel you need to raise a particular issue to us then please do not hesitate to contact the Duty Manager who will be happy to assist you next time you stay with us.

Kind regards,

Adam Munday,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went to pick my son up from Uni recently and Stayed on a saturday night.t
Hotel is a Clever concversion of a 60s hotel- decor to look stylish- Nice touches
Staff Highly attentive, friendly and informal.
THey bent over backwards to get my son and I a Table in the Maro Pierre white Grill and the food was good.
One minus -- Hollow fibre pillow and Duvets - Thats Travelodge standard - I would expect slightly better than that
I was travelling on my own and felt very safe in this hotel despite it being Newcastle on a Saturday night - I will stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi Kay S,

Thank you for your feedback. I am very happy to learn how safe you felt while staying with us and I will certainly pass on your comments to our Housekeeping Manager.

Kind regards,

Adam Munday,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were going to the Newcastle Arena so decided to treat ourselves to Afternoon Tea. The staff were very good but we were disappointed with the Afternoon Tea, there was only half of a very small tartlet of quiche and a couple of sandwiches, the rest was scones with cream and cakes with cream, cream and more cream. Half and half savoury and sweet would have been better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi Travelled79,

Thank you for your feedback, I will be sure to discuss your comments with our Food and Beverage manager to help in our mission to continuously improve the service we provide.

Kind regards,

Adam Munday,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pool of Muckhart, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here the last time we went to the football. Great location, close to town and close to the footie ground. The rooms were first class. Its got a small gym which has limited equipment but still good for a small work out after the drive down. Staff were excellent. Will be back next time we are down for a match.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi JonW85,

Thanks for your great review! Maybe you could try a tour of S.t James’ Park football stadium on your next visit, we would certainly be more than happy to organise that for you if you let us know on check in.

Kind regards,

Adam Munday,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the indigo in Newcastle last weekend for 2 nights . What a fantastic hotel ! Location was superb and the staff were excellent.They were extremely knowledgable and nothing was too much trouble. Upgraded to the roof top terrace rooms, what a fabulous concept in the middle of a city !! Rooms were well designed, comfortable and well maintained. Used the restaurant for breakfast both mornings and couldn't fault a thing
Ate in the Marco Pierre White restaurant in the hotel on Saturday evening and food and service was first class. Make sure you book in advance or you may be disappointed !! Can't wait to find another excuse to visit this hotel
I am a frequent user of all hotel groups and the staff are amongst the best trained,friendly and professional I have ever encountered

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi Chris M,

Thanks a million for your review, I couldn’t put it better myself! Please check out our website before you book your next stay with us, we have a lot of great things to offer.

Kind regards,

Adam Munday,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.