We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo Newcastle to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is an excellent location. 2 minute walk from Central Station & only 5 minutes from some really great bars, clubs & The Quayside.
We stayed over New Year & were wellcomed by some really friendly reception staff. They offered us advice on where to go that evening & let us know of all the hotels entertainment for the evening.
Our room was absolutely spotless & very spacious. Such a modern feel with free wifi, an ipod docking station & the mini bar is a great touch! The bed was huge & very comfortable, a great nights sleep! The bathroom wasnt huge but the rainfall shower & the aveda products were fantastic.
We brought in the new year in the bar with other guests which had a great atmosphere. Music & dancing & the staff were chatting away & really enjoying themselves too!! The bar was pricey but we left & done our own thing after the bells. The staff were also kind enough to book us a taxi.
The next day were enjoyed a meal in the hotel restaurant. Prices are very high but for the standard of the food you do not mind for a treat on a weekend away.
We had a great time at this hotel & will definately be back!! Thoroughly enjoyed my new year in the toon!! Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hello xLx11,

So glad you loved the Hotel! The location, the modern updates to a classic hotel room, and the bathroom amenities are all things we are so proud of. I'm so glad to hear you were with us over the New Years festivities also! The staff remember how lovely the atmosphere was too :)

The prices of the bar and restaurant are thoroughly considered based on the prices of competing hotels and restaurants in the city centre - but we really appreciate you treating yourself with us and can't wait to have you back!

All the best for 2013,

Kind Regards,
Mark Winter,
Front of House Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    285
    70
    10
    4
See reviews for
81
497
45
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed for two nights at the end of December. Impressed from start to finish by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Little touches like complimentary snacks and drinks in the minibar helped to make it a memorable experience.

Rooms are spacious, modern and well finished. The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from the Central Station, so ideally located for exploring the city.

My only minor quibble is that the cleaners tried to come into our room while we were asleep, despite the 'do not disturb' sign we had hung on the door. Apart from that it was a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hello Paul K,

Thank you so much for your lovely review!

Its wonderful to hear you found the amenities useful, and the staff really appreciate the kind words. Your comments have all been passed on to the relevent teams and will be followed through.

We hope you guys have a lovely new year and come back again soon!

Kind Regards,
Mark Winter,
Front of House Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

There is nothing I could fault with the hotel I arrive early so didnt think my room would be ready but I got checked in straight away! And even if your room isn't ready there's a room where you can put your bags.

The welcome was very friendly. The staff were amazing and ready to help with any problems and questions we had. They even booked a taxi for us!

We had the king size room and it was totally spotless! Nothing fault and the style of the hotel is so beautiful. You even got free wifi in your room, tv and iPod speaker! One of the best nights sleeps

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Hello Rebeccaxoxx,
And congrats on being our first ever review of 2013!!
Thank you so much for the review. Even though check in is at 2pm it is true that if we can accommodate you even earlier we most certainly will.
We’ve passed your comments on to our staff who really appreciate it, and I’m so happy you loved your room too. It sounds like you had a true Indigo Newcastle Experience 
Please come again soon and take care in the new year!

Kind Regards
Mark Winter
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epworth
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Excellent location for a night out on the Toon which is exactly what my wife and I wanted. Only five minutes walk from the city centre and the same in the other direction to the restaurants and bars on the Quayside. If you're travelling by car the hotel has it's own secure car park at £12 for 24 hours or it's 2 mins walk from the railway station. We took the car, arrived at 5pm so had all the next day to look around and go shopping with the car left at the hotel.
We received a very cheerful greeting at reception and were given the key to room 102 - unfortunately the heating wasn't working and the room was freezing. However, the staff responded immediately and gave us a free upgrade to 416, a top floor room with a balcony.
Good points: The welcome, the location, decent rooms, comfy beds, service and complimentary mini-bar (includes beer and wine in upgraded rooms!!). Downside: Only one - the bar is pricey if you fancy a few drinks - a pint and a single Baileys £9.90!! Ouch.
Good effort though and I would go back. Oh, nearly forgot the formidable breakfast!!

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms have balconies but those overlooking Fenkle Street don't have much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Hi SB1Epworth,

Thank you for your amazing review. We are really happy that you made great use of our 2 story car park. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for 1 night in any balcony room, on a short notice offer. The hotel is in the centre of Newcastle and is in easy walking distance from the train station and the centre of town for shopping or the famous nightlife.

The Indigo is a new style hotel with friendly staff, the rooms are average size, but they are clean, modern and have a trendy feel about them. The bathroom is not massive, but again this is clean and modern and has a very nice large shower with good water pressure and lots of hot water, but no bath.

We did not have breakfast, so cannot comment on this, but there is a Gordon Ramsey restaurant attached to the reception of the hotel, which looks very nice and was busy.

I would recommend this hotel, for anybody who is looking for a modern, clean centrally based hotel in Newcastle.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Hi durhamdonkey,

Thanks a million for your great review, we are proud to have pleased you! I must correct you though if I may, that our in house restaurant is not a Gordon Ramsey restaurant but in fact, a Marco Pierre White Steak house, which I assure you is just as exquisite. Come and try it out next time you stay with us.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

For special occasions we regularly stay at the Mal Maison but decided to give Hotel Indigo a go after reading some excellent reviews. We weren't disappointed.

While the Mal Maison has excellent views the little touches at Hotel Indigo make it superior in our eyes. Both hotels have fantastic rooms, luxurious beds and top end restaurants and bars. However, the free mini bar, WiFi and bathrobes are little touches that go beyond the norm. We'll be back and intend to start exploring branches of Hotel Indigo in other cities.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Hi Theprole,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review about us. I assure you, the pleasure was all ours! See you soon…

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The title really does say it all, as soon as we walked in I knew it was going to be a good stay, even though it was just for one night. The reception staff were more than friendly, and checked us in, speedy and efficient. When we got to the room, the hotel had fulfilled my boyfriends booking request of a rose on the bed, for an extra fiver, it was great. Our room was beautifully decorated with a nice big tv, and very spacious. We also had a balcony, which had lovely views of Newcastle City Central. Above the desk was a panel to connect the laptop to the tv, so we could watch dvds, which was better than having to connect to TV itself and have wires everywhere. Loved the complimentary mini bar food, that was just very thoughtful and I wish more hotels were liked that, at least complimentary water would be nice in all! However Indigo went above and beyond, with fizzy drinks, crisps, chocolate and mini bottles of wine, all complimentary. The bathroom was beautiful, that is all I have to say, it was lovely!

I just wish we had tried breakfast/ate at the restaurant within the hotel. (Marco Pierre White Steakhouse) Doesn't matter though, I plan to return in the new year and I can try it then!

Room Tip: Top floor, I think it was Executive Room, which got the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Hi megcritchley,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so happy and proud that you loved your stay with us and we cannot wait to see you again.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 79 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.