We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Newcastle Upon Tyne Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Newcastle to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Central Newcastle Upon Tyne Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Booked this hotel for a weekend stay in Newcastle, great location, few minutes walk from the Train Station.

Excellent staff, very welcoming reception staff made for a pleasant stay.

Hotel was opened in 2011 and everything looks new, very contemporary in styling. Free mini bar in the room, all the mod cons! Great shower (no bath).

I would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Hi Lynne501,

Thanks a lot for writing such a great comment about us, please come and join us on Facebook were you can find out all of our latest deals. May I just also add that we only opened June 2012, not 2011, it’s really great to hear how highly you think of us after being open for this time!

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    299
    73
    11
    4
See reviews for
89
512
47
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Love it clean and warm totally enjoyed our stay in Newcastle will be back. People so friendly and newcastle is an amazing place .Love the shopping and have being to a couple of amazing place to eat especially Paradiso. Totally in love with Newcastle .... Thats for sure ....

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Hi Kelly H,

Thank you for your great feedback. Come and follow us on Twitter to find out our latest deals.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I had extremely high hopes for my stay at the Hotel Indigo, having read the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor, but had possibly the worst experience EVER in a hotel.
On arrival I was allocated an accessible room. I don't need one and did not think the bathroom was particularly clean, so asked to move...a room with a decent view ( not one of the hotel car park!) I moved to another room, only to find stains and food all over the wooden floor. I asked for the room to be cleaned, and was told it must have been missed off the inspection list. On returning to my room I was pleased that the stains had gone, and went to shower.....along with the hairs of the last occupant. Following my shower I thought I might pop on one of the folded, hanging bathrobes, only to find makeup all along the neckline! Amazingly, someone had taken the trouble to fold a FILTHY bathrobe and rehang it. Yuck!!!
By now too tired to complain, I decided to call it quits and hop not bed....and was not suprised to find stains on the bedding....enough filth for me for ne day so I called down to complain.
Oh yes, and the TV was broken.
Mark, the Manager was extremely apologetic and moved us to "the best room in the hotel"....again complete with hairs in the shower.
We tried to sleep but this is impossible when the ceiling vent grinds and bangs at 5 minute intervals throughout the night. At 6am the shower starting gurgling, and did not stop.
We were offered a full refund and a complimentary stay on our next visit to Newcastle. We declined as we are not in the mood to subject ourselves to further punishment!
Mark has e mailed to follow up, and states that they are discussing cleaning standards with the agency used. My advice? Sack them all and employ local people who want to work.
Overall disgusting!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Slesl,

Thank you for your feedback. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I'm sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay and regret that you were left disappointed with the conditions of the room you received. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into.

We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here a Saturday and Sunday. The location of the hotel is excellent, just around the corner from Central Station. Check in was friendly and efficient, the public areas of the hotel are bright and modern, we were in a standard double which was clean and fresh, the room had tea and coffee making facilities, a safe and a fridge containing complimentary water, soft drinks and snacks - we much prefer this arrangement to the traditional (and outmoded) mini bar as guests can use the fridge for their own wine etc. The floor in the room was laid with laminate rather than carpet - I quite liked that, my wife didn't.

On the Sunday morning breakfast was a shambles - a four star hotel and guests are expected to make their own tea and toast - really? It wasn't particularly busy (thank goodness) but the system just couldn't cope - we had to find staff to supply cups, tea bags, teapots - none of which were being replenished, you have to queue to order cooked food and stand and wait while it is prepared - very poor. It was neither a proper buffet nor proper service and management have to think about how to improve this. On the Monday morning we were given table service - a much better arrangement for both guests and staff who looked much happier.

Service from the bar area was good although they automatically add a 10% service charge which is OK if they are providing table service but unacceptable if you stand at the bar to collect a drink to take upstairs. The restaurant is a Marco Pierre White franchise and seemed busy both at lunchtime and at dinner - we're not fans of celebrity chef franchises so chose to eat elsewhere.

We had dinner at Landmark in Chinatown (at the NCP car park in Stowell St - about 5 minutes walk away) - the food and service were both excellent - it was extremely busy so advance booking is advised - and the surroundings were nice. The second evening we ate at Old Siam, about 10 minutes walk away in a street called Side. This restaurant was recommended to us, which was just as well as it looks unattractive from the street and wouldn't otherwise have received a second glance but the food, service and value were superb, the surroundings less good, but it's the food that counts.

The hotel is located close to St James' Park (the reason for our visit) also nearby is the large Eldon Square shopping centre, the Quayside area is about 10 minutes walk away.

All in all a good stay, slightly marred by our Sunday morning breakfast experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Hi JulesandSand,

Thank you for your great feedback, which we take very seriously here at Hotel Indigo Newcastle. We are happy you enjoyed your overall stay with us but we are also very sorry that you had a slight issue with breakfast, this will be discussed with our food and beverage manager and procedures will be put in place to help make sure this doesn’t happen again. Please come back soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed 4th and 5th October, the hotel is beautiful, the rooms are lovely and the staff were really friendly and helpful. But for me the location lets down this hotel, it's right across from the O2 academy and even with the super double glazing you could hear the music. There was even a bouncer on the hotel door to stop the party goers from coming into the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Hi Keren28,

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry there was an issue with noise while you were staying with us. As a city centre hotel, we provide a nice and friendly security service to ensure all of our guests’ safety while staying with us. All feedback is discussed in our regular morning meetings and actions will be put into place, where plausible to help overcome certain issues raised by our guests. We would love to have you back with us again.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I live fairly local to the hotel and Stayed here 1 night to avoid the taxi fare home. Excellent hotel in prime city centre location. Individual rooms well thought out. Complimentary mini bar was a bonus. Bar is slightly expensive but has an air of class about it. staff were friendly and attentive to our needs. I would highly recommend Hotel Indigo to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Hi Darrenwaferguson,

Thank you for suggesting that will recommend us! We’re really happy that you enjoyed your stay and we would love to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I'm currently staying here four days a week for work (this is my 8th week and I might be here for another 4-6 months) and now I know I wouldn't go anywhere else:

- Great, big, quiet, clean rooms.
- Comfy and big bed.
- Excellent staff.
- Marco Pierre restaurant... just amazeballs.
- Brekkie: really good and varied.
- In the city center, near loads of restaurants, bars and attractions.
- Complimentary mini bar with beer, wine, chocolates, chips (if you get a room in the 4th floor, minibars have usually more stuff than in the lower ones).
- Not a problem in 8 weeks.

Room Tip: Fourth floor is the best!! They have balconies!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Hi Ophintor,

We love having you with us, thank you so much for your comments, they really do mean a lot. Are we friends on Facebook yet?

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 79 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.