We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly and helpful Staff, But........” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County

Save Saved
You added Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great friendly and helpful Staff, But........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on business. The Hotel itself is OK ish. All of the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Location is great for the rail station and shops. The Quayside is within easy walking distance, but beware of the climb on the way back. We ate in the restaurant on our first night and the food was very good and reasonably priced. The downside of this hotel is twofold. No.1 No Aircon in the rooms, No.2 Street noise. We tried to sleep with the window open due to the heat but the noise from the revellers up to the early hours was extreme. The desk manager sorted out a room change for the second night and this was not any better. First room on the front of the hotel, second faced the side street. Ear plugs an essential!

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay with us in Thistle Newcastle, The County.

I was sorry to note that your sleep was disturbed during your stay. Our city centre location does have many advantages, unfortunately however, external noise in the heart of the city can prove to be a nuisance if you are a light sleeper. As we are a listed building, we do need to retain the original sash windows however, our rooms do have secondary glazing and ear plugs are available on request. Should you feel noise would cause you a disturbance, we also have a range of rooms facing our courtyard car park which may be available on request.

During the time of your stay, Newcastle was experiencing extreme temperatures. Should you require any items to make your stay more comfortable; a fan for example, we do have a Guest Relations Manager on duty 24hours a day who I am confident would be more than happy to assist with any such requests.

On a more positive note, it was great to read that you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent customer service and I will personally ensure your comments are passed on to the team.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Newcastle, The County in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    154
    120
    55
    35
See reviews for
41
144
54
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Spent a weekend here im July and the only thing I can say is that it is a great hotel. We were upgraded to an executive double room with a huge bed and a bathroom with a tab. Staff, including the restaurant and housekeeping, are really friendly. Our room faced the Westgate Road where there is a pub just opposite the hotel. It did cause some noise at night but then again the hotel is situated fantastically in the VERY centre close to the Newcastle train station and some noise cannot be avoided. All in all great hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay with us in Thistle Newcastle, The County.

I was pleased to read that you stayed in one of our spacious executive rooms. We do have a selection of room types available but we feel our executive rooms are excellent value for money. They are often preferred by our guests for adding a touch of luxury to your stay.

I have to agree with you, we do have an excellent location. Being in the heart of the city, we are directly opposite Newcastle Central Station and within short walking distance of the main shopping area and Newcastle’s extensive array of bars and restaurants. Sometimes external noise can cause a nuisance if you are not accustomed to it however, we do have a range of rooms facing our courtyard car park which may be available on request.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Newcastle, The County in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just spent the weekend here and can't fault the hotel. Friendly staff, great location and good food. Our room was at the front across from the train station and so could get a bit noisy, although it was the weekend and would probably be noisy anywhere. It didn't stop us getting a good nights sleep even with the window open because it was so warm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay with us in Thistle Newcastle, The County.

I was pleased to note that you found our staff to be friendly. It is always good to hear such kind comments about our team. I was pleased to note that you dined with us during your stay and that you were pleased with the quality of the food. Our chefs pride themselves on providing a menu using fresh ingredients which is great value for money.

I was happy to read that you had a great nights sleep. Our central location is an excellent advantage for exploring the city but if you are not accustomed to it, external noise can be a nuisance. We do provide complimentary ear plugs should this cause you a disturbance. We also have a range of bedrooms facing our courtyard car park which may be available on request.

Once again, thank you for you kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Newcastle, The County in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here on business and the location was very convenient. Staff was very professional and helpful and the service was good. The double room was great and Bed were fantastic! Soft, exceptionally clean, and so comfortable. Breakfast had great variety.. Staff were very interested in assisting in any way! Compared to other hotels in area, a great buy for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us in Thistle Newcastle, The County.

Our team here have a passion for delivering exceptional customer service and we were very pleased to hear that you found all of our staff to be friendly and helpful during your stay. Please be assured that your kind comments will be passed on to the team.

I was happy to note that you found your bed to be comfortable! We pride ourselves on being able to offer a great nights sleep whilst still being in the heart of the city!

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Newcastle, The County in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in the thistle hotel for two nights. The room was said to be a small double but the beds are less than a normal size double bed. The small wardrobe had no hanging space for my long dresses and we would have felt squashed in the bed so we paid to upgrade and were offered an executive suite. this was better but the small wardrobe was the same, no room to hand long dresses. The location is brilliant, right opposite the railway station. We chose to eat one night in the hotel. This meal was fabulous, we had three courses and the presentation and taste in all three were delicious, we both enjoyed them. There is building work going on outside and we were on the front but we were not affected by this as we are early risers. The staff are friendly and helpful. Not far to walk to all the shops and the Quayside. We would stay there again but make sure its a standard double never a small double room again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay with us in Thistle Newcastle, The County.

I was sorry to learn that your room did not meet your expectations. As our hotel was built in the late 1800’s our rooms do vary in size. Our rooms are not uniform in size like some of the new builds today and although we feel this adds to the charm of the hotel, we accept this is not to everyone’s taste. Our small double rooms are as described and we do try to be as detailed as possible by advising our guests that there is a 4ft bed in the room rather than a standard double bed. I was pleased to note that you found our Executive room to be better suited to your needs. The Executive rooms are some of the larger rooms in the hotel and are often preferred by our guests for having extra space and original features.

I was happy to note that you found our hotel to be in a great location. We are within walking distance of all that Newcastle has to offer. Being directly opposite Newcastle Central Station and a short walk from the main shopping area is a great advantage.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our restaurant. Our chefs take pride in being able to offer a great menu using the freshest of ingredients, served in a relaxed and informal environment. Our restaurant offers great value for money and I am pleased you were able to dine with us during your stay.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Newcastle, The County in the near future.

Kind Regards

Emma Thompson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I travel for business and the Thistle is very conveniently located. The staff are always very professional-when I checked in yesterday the lovely girl on reception was.dealing with a very rude family and.was very professional. My room was as always spotless and although I only had muesli and toast the breakfast selection is great - I will return on my next trip

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us in Thistle Newcastle, The County.

I am delighted to hear that you found our staff to be professional and friendly, even when faced with difficult situations. The team here at The County are passionate about delivering excellent customer service and try very hard to do so.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the cleanliness of our rooms and the selection of items available at breakfast. I hope you agree that we have a great deal of choice within our breakfast offering and there really is something for everyone!

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Newcastle, The County in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

A stone's throw from the railway station which we found very convenient and it is also just a short walk from the shopping/bar area's and quayside. We stayed here for 2 nights in a family room which was very cramped with small beds but at least we were at the back of the hotel so it was a quiet nights sleep (the front cops the noise from the bars at kicking out time).
It was an ok stay; the staff were friendly and the breakfast was really nice with lots of choice but be warned, you have to prepay at checking in if you want to have an allowance for expenses and charge things to your room. I have never stayed anywhere like this...usually you can settle these at the end of your stay. This did leave me feeling like an untrusty guest but it saved me money as there were no drunken additions to the room bill! In recent years we have frequented Premier Inns and I would choose a Premier over a Thistle now any day.

Room Tip: There are specific rooms that are provided with earplugs due to the noise - check which ones these a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, General Manager at Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle Newcastle, the County.

I was pleased to note that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the central location to be handy. Thank you for your kind comments about the service received from the team and the quality of our buffet breakfast. Our central location has many advantages, but external noise can be a nuisance, especially with the Central Station upgrade and if you are not accustomed to city centre living. We have recently upgraded our secondary double glazing and we provide complimentary ear plugs as an additional extra as we want all of our guests to have a comfortable and enjoyable nights sleep while staying with us.

Like many city centre hotels, we ask for credit card authorisation upon check in in order that you can charge additional extras such as food and drink to your room account. This is optional. This pre authorisation doesn't charge your card until you check out of the hotel, however it holds funds as a guarantee of payment. I am sorry that you chose not to take up this option as it would have allowed you the freedom to charge things to your room as required.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again should you return to Newcastle in the future.

Kind regards

Steven Devine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County

Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opposite Newcastle’s Central Rail and Bus Station, this beautifully preserved 19th-century building is now a modern hotel. The County Hotel by Thistle, located in the heart of Newcastle city centre, is just minutes from restaurants, bars and theatres as well as the Quayside area. St James' Park, home of Newcastle United FC, is a 10-minute walk away. The Metro Radio Arena, O2 Academy and Sage Gateshead are located within walking distance of the hotel. With a flat-screen satellite TV, an in-room safe and tea and coffee making facilities, the rooms also have 24-hour room service available. Private bathrooms each feature an over bath shower and a hairdryer and ironing facilities are available. Rendez Vous Restaurant provides a range of British and international cuisine prepared with locally sourced ingredients. The relaxed lounge bar shows sports on large LCD TVs. The County features 11 meeting and event rooms - suitable for a 1:1 meeting or a conference for up to 220 delegates. All rooms have natural daylight, air conditioning and come equipped with all of the equipment needed for a perfect meeting. Weddings, formal dinners and family celebrations are a speciality of the hotel.The hotel offers complimentary off-site gym facilities within walking distance. Limited car parking for 19 vehicles is also available at a small daily charge. Wi-fi is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel, Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
County Hotel By Thistle Newcastle
County Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.