We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County to your Saves list
Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
kinross
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights B.B. booked through easybreaks and have to say excellent value.
On arrival was met at reception with very friendly and helpfull staff. Room was very clean and great comfy bed. Food excellent and freshly made to order, all staff very polite and friendly. Great location for centre of Newcastle. Will return again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, General Manager at Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at Thistle Newcastle City Centre, the County.

I was really pleased to note that you had an enjoyable time at the hotel and you approved of the facilities, the location and the high level of service received.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the County should you return to Newcastle.

Kind regards

Steven Devine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    197
    142
    62
    42
See reviews for
49
172
64
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Having booked here for a trip away I was pleasantly surprised at the amazing location of this hotel.

Upon entry the hall and reception areas are bright, clean and modern. The receptionist was friendly and asked if we needed any help.

When we got into the room it was very old fashioned. Old curtains, dated, small bathroom and decor was just old compared to the lobby and restaurant areas of the hotel. The room however was very spacious and the bed was huge and comfortable. Everything was spotless you couldn't fault that.

I think they just maybe need to consider updating the rooms and making it more of a modern twist to keep to the feel of the old fashioned hotel.

We were £100 for 2 nights and because we didn't have to pay for any transport it was a very cheap stay. The gate and the shopping centres are literally a 5-10 minute walk up the hill with some lovely little pubs along the way.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, General Manager at Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at Thistle Newcastle City Centre, the County.

I was very pleased to note that you found the public areas to be bright clean and modern. We are currently in the process of improving our bedrooms including new carpets, new bed throws and shower curtains to compliment the chairs and curtains which were recently added. I am sorry that the room did not live up to your expectations, but pleased to note that you found it to be clean and spacious.

Being opposite the rail station is a huge benefit including not having to pay for onward travel once you arrive in Newcastle - as well as an extra 10 minutes in bed before leaving for home!

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the County in the near future.

Kind regards

Steven Devine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I have just enjoyed sunday lunch today with a group of 7 friends. We bought the lunch on a living social deal. The 3 courses we had were really delicious. All starters were tasty. In our group were two girls over from Greece and we wanted them to taste local foods. So we recommended they try the beef with yorkshire puddings. Although they were tiny puds, the lunch itself didnt disappoint. If only it could have been a little hotter. Deserts were lovely. All meals were served by staff wearing white gloves, and a lovely pianist playing background music added to that personal touch. The only gripe was the room was a little cold. Overall excellent value for money, and i would even pay the full price if i went again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, General Manager at Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent visit to our Hotel for Sunday Lunch.

I was delighted to learn that you had a very enjoyable experience.

Sunday lunch has proved to be very popular and our chef takes pride in ensuring we offer a traditional menu including homemade crisp Yorkshire puddings ,roast beef with gravy made from the roasting stock, traditional pot pies and so on. This menu is in keeping with the magnificent surroundings of our Mozart Suite, with original wood panelling and large bay windows overlooking Central Station and complimented by gentle background music from the pianist. Due to the popularity of our Sunday lunch, we do recommend that you reserve a table in advance by telephoning the hotel. The team will be more than happy to assist you with your reservation.

Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the County Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Steven Devine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights B&B using best available rate - £268. Overpriced for what's on offer, the quality of the rooms and we wouldn't return.

On entry to the hotel it is lovely with beautiful décor and an expectation of good things to come. Sadly, on entering our room - my bubble was burst. The room was small, the bathroom very small, dated and grubby. The WC was on an angle and you couldn't even sit with your legs in front - you had to sit sideways. The complimentary tea tray was also dirty.

I went back to Reception and asked if another double room was available. The Receptionist was very nice and immediately looked at her PC and allocated me another room, but she didn't even ask why I wanted to change rooms!! Thankfully I checked out this room before giving my keys back and to my surprise, this was worse than the first, so we actually opted to keep the original room. I handed the keys back advising I would stick with the first room as I thought the second one was worse and she simply said "sorry about that".

Although the room has what you need - TV, hairdryer, iron and board etc, for us there was no sense of warmth or comfort about it and certainly lacking any feel of luxury. I do appreciate it is an old building but good cleaning in rooms is paramount.

To pay £134 a night and not have free wifi; even in the public areas, I think is poor. People visiting the city do want to google things to do, book tickets etc. There is a PC in the reception area but that's not the point.

On the plus side - staff were nice, the breakfast was good and location is excellent. Not enough to make us return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, General Manager at Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking time to provide me with feedback following your recent stay with us at the County Hotel, Newcastle.

I was very sorry to learn of your disappointment.

As our hotel dates back to the late 1800's, our rooms do vary in size and shape from the large Executive rooms to the compact and cosy Small Double rooms. The en suite bathrooms were added at a much later stage and were designed making best use of space. I was sorry to learn that you found cause to comment on the cleanliness of the room. As you can see from previous reviews, the cleanliness of the Hotel is usually rated very high. I am confident that if you had brought your concerns to the Duty Manager at the time, they would have tried their hardest to rectify them so that you could enjoy the remainder of your stay with us. Please be assured that I will personally observe the cleaning standards going forward.

Although Wi-Fi is chargeable at present, we do offer complimentary Wi-Fi as part of our loyalty scheme, Signature. Details of this offer are available at reception or on line.

On a more positive note, I was pleased to note that you found the team to be friendly, the breakfast was good and the location was excellent.

Once again, please accept my apologies for any shortfalls during your stay and I do hope that you will consider staying with us again should you return to Newcastle.

Kind regards

Steven Devine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed for a Saturday night even in Newcastle centre. It was the great location that made me choose this hotel, directly across from the central rail station, although it was a bit pricey I think. Parking is possible at the station for about £15 a day. Room was clean, double bed was huge and comfortable. Bathroom was massive, shower was hot and plenty of height for a big chap like myself. Water pressure was adequate but nothing special. Sure the elevator had some kebab sauce on the buttons, but this is Newcastle!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, General Manager at Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your positive review following your recent stay with us at the County Hotel, Newcastle.

I was really pleased that you approved of the central location of the Hotel - being directly opposite the Central Station is a great advantage.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the cleanliness of your room and the facilities in the room and bathroom. I am pleased that you found them to be as expected.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you have an overnight visit to Newcastle.

Kind regards

Steven Devine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our last stay at this hotel was in all ways good, however this time was almost as bad as our first experience here.
Once again we asked for a quiet room which was booked well in advance. We were given a tiny room (big enough for the bed, just) with a very small bath and bathroom which was in all honesty a bit "grubby". The evening stay was very noisy indeed, as I understand, the best rooms were allocated to a "big group".The male staff on the desk gave this info.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, General Manager at Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback following your recent stay with us at the County Hotel, Newcastle.

As our hotel dates back to the late 1800's, our bedrooms vary in size from the large and lofty executive rooms to the compact and cosy small double rooms. Our bedrooms are not as uniformed as the new builds of today and have been graded accordingly with the bed size that suits the room - some of our standard double rooms have king size beds, where others have standard size, depending on the space available. Unfortunately I am unsure of the room type you reserved so I am unable to comment on your specific room but please be assured that we allocate the room type as originally reserved by our guests and we never down grade room types.

I am sorry that you were disturbed by external noise. The central location of our hotel has many advantages such as no onward taxi fares and being in the heart of the entertainment area, however external noise can sometimes be a nuisance. We have recently had our secondary double glazing upgraded, but as we are a listed building we have to maintain the original sash windows. Unfortunately this means that the noise reduction will never be as good as it is from a sealed unit.

Once again, please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused and I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again when you return to Newcastle.

Kind regards

Steven Devine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Probably the room you are getting makes huge different. Our was so bad that I would not go back any more. Old smell and decor, uncomfortable bed, dark room, dated bathroom without anything juts rusty bin. My biggest problem was the awful dirty elevator. However the reception staff was nice and we liked the breakfast. Altogether, no, I am so sorry but NO.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNCL, General Manager at Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking time to provide me with feedback following your recent stay with us at the County Hotel by Thistle.

I was very sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction.

As our hotel dates back to the late 1800's, our bedrooms vary in size from the large and lofty executive rooms to the compact and cosy small double rooms. Our bedrooms are not as uniformed as the new builds of today and have been graded accordingly with the bed size that suits the room - some of our standard double rooms have king size beds, where others have standard size, depending on the space available. Unfortunately I am unsure of the room type you reserved so I am unable to comment on your specific room but please be assured that we allocate the room type as originally reserved by our guests.

I am sorry that you did not bring your concerns to the attention of the Duty Manager at the time of your stay - I am confident if they had been made aware of your dissatisfaction they would have tried their very best to ensure you had an enjoyable stay with us. On a more positive note I was pleased to note that you enjoyed breakfast and found the team to be friendly.

Once again, please accept my apologies and I do hope that you will consider staying with us again should you return to the UK.

Kind regards

Steven Devine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County

Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opposite Newcastle’s Central Rail and Bus Station, this beautifully preserved 19th-century building is now a modern hotel. The County Hotel by Thistle, located in the heart of Newcastle city centre, is just minutes from restaurants, bars and theatres as well as the Quayside area. St James' Park, home of Newcastle United FC, is a 10-minute walk away. The Metro Radio Arena, O2 Academy and Sage Gateshead are located within walking distance of the hotel. With a flat-screen satellite TV, an in-room safe and tea and coffee making facilities, the rooms also have 24-hour room service available. Private bathrooms each feature an over bath shower and a hairdryer and ironing facilities are available. Rendez Vous Restaurant provides a range of British and international cuisine prepared with locally sourced ingredients. The relaxed lounge bar shows sports on large LCD TVs. The County features 11 meeting and event rooms - suitable for a 1:1 meeting or a conference for up to 220 delegates. All rooms have natural daylight, air conditioning and come equipped with all of the equipment needed for a perfect meeting. Weddings, formal dinners and family celebrations are a speciality of the hotel.The hotel offers complimentary off-site gym facilities within walking distance. Limited car parking for 19 vehicles is also available at a small daily charge. Wi-fi is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel, Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
County Hotel By Thistle Newcastle
County Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Newcastle City Centre, The County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.