We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant night out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon Restaurant

Half Moon Restaurant
Ryton Village | Ryton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE40 3NU, England
+44 191 413 2028
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Hexham, Northumberland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

We visited the Half Moon Inn with a Groupon, no need to book in advance which was a big bonus for us. We arrived around 6pm, parking was outside on the street, but as it's situated at the bottom of the village on a wide, quiet road, there was ample room.A bit tricky to find the correct door to enter - we tried one which was locked, a sign would have been very helpful as we weren't familiar with the layout. A few locals were drinking at the bar, and stared at us, which was a bit uncomfortable, but we walked through to the dining area, and were quickly shown to a table. There were only two other tables occupied all the time we were there.

The menu was fairly standard pub fare, we chose steak and chips, Drinks were offered and brought promptly, and the food didn't take long either. It was very nicely served on large rectangular plates, and the helpings were large. Often the accompanying salad is merely a garnish, but this was quite substantial, although I would guess mostly from a packet of leaves. The chips were large and absolutely delicious, I would go again just for them! Steak was OK, a little tough maybe, but nothing to complain about. Also came with mushrooms, tomato and onion rings, so a generous meal.

The waiter was very attentive without being obtrusive, very polite and helpful. He explained the menu - different food features as an offer on different nights, and looked to be excellent deals. The setting is fine for a family meal, not the poshest of establishments but an honest deal for any night of the week, We would definitely return. Oh and a bonus - you can get a take away!

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    6
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Overated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Cannot believe I have been to the same half moon as some of the contributors on this site.I have had a meal on two occasions within the last six weeks here.To summarise,small plates,bad lighting,inappropriate cutlery.Food at best described as average,nothing special or outstanding for the price.,The only positive was good service from the young waitress.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle u
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Superb food, lovely village pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

We have just moved to the area and popped in last night to sample the food.
Absolutely delighted with everything about the place, a roaring log fire, a great selection of beers, a lovely atmosphere, the food was wonderful and the staff were so friendly.
Cant recommend enough and what a great bonus after moving into our dream home nearby, we will become regulars without a doubt!
10 out of 10!!

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch with the family”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Second time here for Sunday lunch . Three of us had the beef and one Turkey . The meat was very tasty and a cracking Yorkshire pudding to boot. My only slight criticism is the veg was dry,under a warming lamp for too long I think . This wouldn't put us off going again as it was excellent value for money. Also nice to see a local pub having a go. If they watch these small things it will do well

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cosy pub, lovely staff , good food !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Nice cosy pub in my village.
Have popped in a few times for lunch and the staff are fantastic and always friendly and help with my elderly parents.
Had the steak and ale pie which was delicious, nice rich gravy and huge chunks of lovely tender steak. It came with a lovely mash and green beans, carrots, cabbage and cauliflower. My parents enjoyed their sausage and mash, again served with vegetables.
Amazing Daim Bar cheesecake for dessert and ice cream (big portions) and apple pie for the oldies.
Great to have some decent food served right on the doorstep.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Moon Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Half Moon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.