We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle to your Saves list
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1SE , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Sleeperz is a modern hotel just a short walk from the station and the Castle as well as a slightly longer walk to the quay area. We stayed for one nightly only but it was comfortable and had the basics on offer. We didn't eat at the hotel - we went to the nearby Pizza Express - but it looked clean in the restaurant area.

Younger members of the family had a bunk bed in their room. Free wifi is good but the Air-con made strange noises, 'clunked' and dripped. Not too many complaints overall though.

Room Tip: Had a 'superior' room which was at the end of the hotel. Had a clipped view of the Sage buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thanks for the review, happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our family rooms. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    262
    82
    24
    16
See reviews for
57
216
42
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We booked Sleeperz as it was well placed for the 'Toon' and not far away from where we were playing that night. Positioned near the Railway Station, it's well-placed for anywhere in Newcastle. We were in a rear facing room, overlooking the Railway car park, so no fantastic view - unless you like trainspotting, but the double glazing is good as we weren't disturbed by train or traffic noise. Bed was King-size and comfy, decent sized TV (not that I watched it much) small, but very functional 'wet-room' style toilet/shower - overall a good space. Breakfast was buffet style and extra to the price of the room (best book in advance or pay an extra £2 on the morning), but worth the money as the choice was huge and as much as you can eat (Hangover pending). .. If you are determined to get a breakfast 'Stottie' instead, cool! However, you'll pay about the same and have to go out for it. ;-)

Room Tip: First visit, so hard to say, but we've booked the same room for our next visit as it was good fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thanks for a lovely review, glad to hear that you enjoyed our tasty buffet breakfast and as you say it's a good idea to book your breakfast on check in to get the discounted price. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great clean room and impressed with the wet room. However, was initially shocked that no wardrobe or drawers (there were hangers) so it just meant having to leave my underwear in my luggage, not a big deal. Initially wasn't going to have breakfast as am a vegan. But they had soy milk. I booked to see what first morning would be like. Got fruit, toast etc and for £6.95 if you pay in advance. So had for most of the week after that. All ok, except last day my room was not cleaned and I think they may have thought I'd checked out as the key card wasn't working, however, the cleaning staff did offer to clean it when I returned, so good service. Very friendly staff from day to night and then to the breakfast staff. Felt comfortable in the dining room. Not squashed on top of each other - as some other hotels and B&Bs can be. Happy overall. Got this as a secret hotel deal from LastMinute, so great surprise was as good as it was. Have been in 3 hotels this year and this one is the best. The air conditioner makes a massive difference to your stay. Was on the fourth floor and happy with the view from the window. St Nicholas cathedral landmark ensured I found my way back each night. Look out for the horse on roller skates just down the road!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your 5 star review. I am happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Pros:
1.Great location if you're going for a night out- lots of bars/clubs walking distance away. Station is also about 5 min walk away
2.Lovely night porter
3.Free wifi
4.Anti- steam mirrors in bathroom
5. Modern features

Cons:
1.The first room we were given had not been cleaned out and tidied up, with a slept in bed, dirty towels and trash all over. When we went back to reception, their initial response was for us to wait for the room to be cleaned, to which I asked for another room instead, after about 5 mins this was sorted, and we got a new room, and the lady serving us apologised.
2.Double room is very small.
3.Stains on bed sheet.
4.Cracked, loose tile in the shower.
5.The shower smelt like sewage and was incredibly bad, as the smell came into the sleeping area. This made us want to spend as little time as possible in the hotel
6.No parking. You have to park in the main station, which is close by but very expensive for an over night stay. We paid £16.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Apologies for firstly being given the key to a dirty room, a genuine mistake, however the other issues you mention could have easily been resolved had we been advised at the time. As you will read from other reviewers we do generally get things just right. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I just stayed at the Sleeperz hotel on Friday 1st August for 2 nights.
- The Check in was quick & easy, Staff were lovely. The young lady behind the desk with dark hair was so bubbly & friendly! We got into our room, it was spotless. Beds are really comfy with extra spare pillows supplied, Nice powerful shower & bright bathroom. Mirror was was steam proof. TV worked fine with loads of channels, We got room service which was great the ice-cream & strawberries was just what i needed. :) Ideal location literally 2 min work to Eldon Square Shopping Centre, Train station and a 1 minute walk to Collingwood Street (where all nightlife is) I slept fine with no noise and there was loads of young people staying there (including myself) but never was woken up with noise and everyone seemed really well behaved. There is a night guard therefore no drunken randoms running around the hall way. The hotel its self is modern, cosy, comfy and really welcoming. The prices for food & drink within the hotel is very reasonable! There is also a temperature control in your room therefore you can control if you want your room chilled or cosy which is perfect! I recommend booking here :) All & All I'd say 4 out of 5 stars :)! Brill !!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view :) All Rooms are bright with one wall completely glass its lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thanks for a 'brill' review, I think you summed up the hotel beautifully. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Fantastic location, we booked two rooms one for us one for friends. My friends room was 303 and stunk of drainage issues we gagged when we walked in . I'm not a perfectionist but the bed sheets were so creased I would have suggested ironing them or at least hang them out a bit as really looked a mess. A modern hotel , nice looking, small rooms but nice enough. Curtain wouldn't pull all the way across our window so we were up early with the sunshine. Got the room on lastminute.com and paid £80.00 per room which I do think was very expensive for what it was but fortunately did not spend too much time in room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thanks for the review, but I wish you had let us know about any issues during your stay so that we could have resolved them. As you will see from other reviewers we generally get great feedback. Glad to hear that our location worked for you. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Me and my wife travelled down from east lothian and had a pleasant overnight stay. Lovely cosy room with a comfy bed, and a cracking view of the castle keep and the Tyne bridge. Perfect location for the city centre and the station and metro as well. I'm glad we took the option of adding on the breakfast - great value buffet, and the sausages are lovely!! We shall return. Many thanks, Anne and Neil Philp, wallyford, east lothian.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you so much for a lovely review. Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#3 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#23 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#9 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#35 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 stars 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle

Address: 15 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1SE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.