We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid-Week City Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle to your Saves list
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1SE , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mid-Week City Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at the Sleeperz Hotel on a two night stay in Newcastle, we choose the hotel after reading good reviews online and an excellent deal we got on the hotel's own website, £110 for 2 people, 2 nights breakfast both mornings......very reasonable we thought!!!! The hotel was easy to find, only a two minute walk from the train station, reception staff were excellent with check-in, very much the impression nothing was too much hassle. :) Our room was on the fourth floor, (room 403), it was very modern, as was the whole hotel......very impressive. The room's air conditioning was excellent and not too noisy, bed was comfy, there version of wardrobe was very amusing, though big enough for what we needed. The wet room was fine, superb power shower, for those moaning the bathroom gets soaked when the shower is on, this is true but its a wetroom!!!!!!!! that's supposed to happen (it is advertised as a wet room on the hotel's website and description), the room was very clean and well lit (floor to ceiling windows). Didn't hear a thing from the street below, day or night. Breakfast was very good, if anything a wider selection would have been nice, but this is a small hotel, and a nicer version of a Premier Inn, therefore due to the small numbers, I can understand the small breakfast, however it was a buffet so you could have as much as you wanted. Plenty of choice in the cold section also :). Overall, an excellent stay, was worth money we paid and then some!!!! Perfect for someone who's using it as a base to sleep, however if going for a week or longer I would recommend a hotel with larger rooms as you will probably want to spend some time chilling in the room, not just sleeping in there. The bar was also very reasonably priced, especially for a hotel! Overall would recommend this hotel for a few nights away, if wanting to be out and about, and would not hesitate to book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Request the side with the street rather than the side adjoining the train station. Also request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    215
    68
    17
    13
See reviews for
48
177
37
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingborg, Sweden
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We got a very small room with a badly placed toilet entry (just by the bed) and terrible humidity in the room due to the lack of windows and an air condition system that was not working properly. Other than that, the room was clean and tidy, but the bed was uncomfortable - you could feel the springs in your back while laying down. The breakfast (available for around £6.50) was very good though, both english and continental. The overall feeling was that it was a bit more of a hostel than a hotel though. Plus also for the very friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a mixed review. From check in to check out the staff were great - friendly and so willing to help. Nearly all constantly smiled. I had 2 nice meals at very reasonable cost in the downstairs area which is clean and trendy. Breakfast was a good choice and enjoyed it. So staff get 10/10 and food 9/10. You also get free WIFI in the rooms. The room was where it slipped. I walked in and thought there were tea mug stains on the cabinet but it was actually heat damage from the mugs so could not be removed. This can't apply to all rooms but gave me a negative first impression. The room also smelt slightly sweaty like a locker room and you cannot open the window. Bathroom is tiny and make sure you shower last a wet floor that may leave you convinced the room will flood (it did not) I recommend this for a 1 or 2 night stay. Any longer and you might go crazy in the small rooms. Communal areas including lifts and corridors were immaculate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, General Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks very much for your great comments on the staff, food and hotel generally. You’re absolutely right about the heat damage on the bedside table, we didn’t expect it to happen. We’re having replacements made at the moment. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel was pretty average but did the job for the brief overnight stay. The staff were very friendly and the room was fine but I had a few nit-picky problems with our stay. The bathroom is very small and so be careful to shower last as the bathroom gets soaked! We were in room 116 and this looked out onto the street and directly into an office building where the employees could see right into the room. Because of this I felt I didn't really want to keep the curtains open as I wanted a little bit of privacy. Overall it was ok for a budget hotel, but nothing special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very modern hotel smack dab in the middle of town - literally 2 minutes walk from the train station, quay, nightclubs etc. Unfortunately the walls were paper thin and we were frequently disturbed either by late night partiers or housekeeping in the morning, but we did get £20 off for the inconvenience. Food wasn't the best either - definitely don't recommend the chewy steak sandwich. Comfy bed, good shower and very friendly service however. So not a bad stay, particularly if you're there for the nightlife.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have just returned from a trip to Newcastle and we stayed 2 nights at this very central hotel. What can I say but fab from the moment we stepped through the door, the reception staff were very friendly and informative, and check in was easy and quick. The room was spotlessly clean with everything you need a comfy bed, very powerful shower and a 32inch tv on the wall, plus you get 30 minutes free calls local and national to landlines.
We paid for breakfast in advance at £6.95 each which was reasonable, plenty of choice.
This hotel is about 8mins walk from the coach station and 2mins from train station.
It's really close to plenty of bars and enough restaurants to please all tastes.the shops are fab and there plent of coffee shops also. We could see the Tyne bridge from our room on the 3rd floor, and its just a few mins walk down to the quayside where on a sunday there is an open air market which is lovely as some of the wares are handmade.
The slug and lettuce on the quayside is really good and always busy as they offer 2 cocktails for price of 1 all day every day!! we went there for breakfast on Easter sunday and for £6.45 each was good value as tea or coffee was included and a fab view also.
This is the 2nd time we have visited newcastle, we stayed at the malmasion last time approx 18months ago and sleepers hotel could teach the high handed reception staff there a thing or two on customer service!!
One last mention to the Italian restaurant in pudding chare(which is about 2mins walk from hotel, it's a little lane by the revolution pub) very good and lovely food, we had 2 courses for 6.95 each which is on all day, we went about 9pm.
Bar luga in grey street is another great bar with a mixed age range, quite posh but great atmosphere.
Would recommend definitely.

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness room but couldn't get dots off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

A lovely hotel completely ruined by the staff apart from two, Helen and Alex!!
The staff were rude and unhelpful, when asking the price of a coffee the so called manager didn't even have the manners to respond she just pointed at the menu, huffed and walked away!
They spoke to the guests like children and seemed to look down the nose at them!
We had booked the hotel for a special occasion and can honestly say we all felt it was ruined by the staff!!
For the sake of the hotel, please send your staff on training to improve their customer care!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, General Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you felt the service was not up to its normal high standard. I do however believe that what you witnessed must be put into context, the group of men to which your comment about coffee refers to, had unfortunately caused problems throughout their stay with their bad behaviour. Helping themselves to the coffee without payment was probably the final straw; however, we should have dealt with them out of earshot of you and other guests. We do find your comments disappointing because as you can see from almost all the other reviews our team are exceptionally good at giving great customer service. We will of course take your feedback on board. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle

Address: 15 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1SE , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 81 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.