We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, in the city centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle

Save Saved
You added Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1SE , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Athlone
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great value, in the city centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Really enjoyed this stay in Newcastle. Sleepers is a value hotel in the centre of town, two minutes from the castle keep, and the central station. The hotel is smart, modern and clean. The rooms are small, but the use of space is clever, and the effect is pleasant. Great welcome, as you would expect in the Northeast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    172
    51
    17
    9
See reviews for
35
145
25
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

If you are coming on the train this place is perfect
Very clean and simple modern
Food downstairs and a bar and main restaraunts and bars are walking distance as is arenas and O2 academy for gigs really nice and great value.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

six of us came up from London to stay at Sleeperz Hotel for New Years.

My friend booked the trip, when he told me the name of the hotel and the price we was paying, I must admit i was a little uneasy at the prospect of staying in a crap Hotel.

When we first arrived the customer services was brilliant, smiley faces, offering usmaps of the local area which was needed.

the rooms were spotlessly clean, very modern also with large windows for natural light.

The beds were very comoftable (If you dont like firm matresses then not for you, but I do).

We didnt eat at the hotel as eating is cheating.

Overall, you get what you pay for. we are coming again in march!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the large window facing the street for natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Although our room was nice I was not impressed by how expensive the food/drinks from the hotel were. I paid for breakfast and I think I would have got a better deal elsewhere, there wasn't much choice and the food was all cold.

Room Tip: Go for the superior rooms if you can, worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kota kinabalu
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nice, modern and clean hotel. Got upgraded to a family room with a bunker bed :) Very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel restaurant serves amazing food with large portions.
I had second thoughts when I was booking for this hotel, because from the reviews, it seems like its a popular hotel for stag and hen parties, and I was traveling with my family worried about getting harassed and not being able to have a good night sleep. But Im assuming that we were quite lucky as it was perfectly quiet at night and we all had a good nights sleep. Comfy beds and clean sheets. The wifi was working fine, but only two devices per room. Perfect location It's very close to Tesco Metro, Grainger Market and Eldon Square. Very pleased, would definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel itself is bright and pleasant, and the staff seemed friendly too. But for an establishment whose name implies a restful night, it should seriously consider renaming itself - "Vomitz", or "Insomniaz" might be better reflections of what its guests can expect.

We stayed in a third-floor room on a Saturday night. I resorted to stuffing my ears with wet bog paper to try to drown out the sound of revellers, which continued until 04:00 or thereabouts. The miserably restless night was further enlivened by someone trying to get into our room at about 02:30; when I went to investigate, I found Carl Pilkington's double lying in the corridor with his head in a pizza box, along with the remains of his pizza. Mushroom, as I recall.

And don't think that you will be able to beguile your drooping eyelids with a bit of surfing using Sleeperz free wi-fi. The signal is (as Sleeperz would doubtless spell it) tranzient.

So I could not recommend Sleeperz - at any rate, on a Saturday night - if you intend trying to sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, General Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do expect our guests to behave responsibly ,reasonably and with consideration to other guests and have seen some criticism of that policy from other reviewers. Your review shows why we take such a position. I’m sorry that your sleep was disturbed we do go to great lengths to avoid this problem. Rest assured that we will insist on considerate behaviour from all our guests and such instances as yours will be very rare. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying for one night at the Sleeperz Hotel in Newcastle and I was very impressed. Despite it's budget price, the room was spotless, the bed comfortable, the shower etc more than adequate and the decor just fine. The icing on the cake was the excellent service. The Sleeperz team could not do enough for us. Truly 5 star service at a budget price. I would definitely recommend this establishment for a business or even short break on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle

Address: 15 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1SE , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 77 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.