We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“girlies weekend away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle to your Saves list
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1SE , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Irvine, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“girlies weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Ideal spot for a night oot on the toon. Really central, a few minutes walk from the train station and nightlife at a great price. Hotel was modern and spotless and the staff were friendly and helpful. Strict night security on the door made it a safe option for females with names being checked off against rooms on our return. Will stay there again without a doubt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    210
    68
    17
    13
See reviews for
47
175
36
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This very modern hotel is a couple of hundred paces from Newcastle's central station and about the same distance from the river Tyne and its attractions. Our street-facing room gave us a great view of St Nicholas' cathedral and the castle keep; both a mere stroll away.

Our room, up on the fifth floor, had just enough space for a double bed and a tiny en suite loo, wash basin and shower. You get a TV, free wi-fi, half a dozen shelves and four coat hangers for your clothes. There's a kettle and the usual tea and coffee stuff.

The decor is jazzy, the staff are friendly and the location served our purposes perfectly. What's not to like? Not much, really. I suspect that (like many modern hotels) the walls are thin and that if you're cursed with noisy neighbours you'd hear everything. Cooked breakfasts (£6.95) are on the pricy side and there's better quality and value in town. The room's compactness might be an issue for some. One person, stopping one night isn't likely to have too many complaints, but two people, over several nights might find that compact morphs into cramped.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Fully agree with a positive comments this little gem has received from fellow travellers. Great - really great location, and clean comfortable room at budget price. We'll be back - definitely, Newcastle is a great place for a City Break.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Sleeperz is very reasonably priced: £65 late booking for one Saturday night double. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful; food and drink available 24 hours; room and public areas attractive and spotlessly clean. The room was quiet, with comfortable bed and views of the cathedral, castle and Tyne Bridge. Second time we have stayed there and will certainly go again.

Room Tip: Third floor from 313 up seem to be best for quiet and beautiful views; higher floors probably even b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Chose Sleeperz as good price - £60 midweek advanced purchase, as just a short walk from Newcastle Central Station, supported by good reviews.

It is indeed just a short walk and overlooks the northbound end / car park of the station if you get a rear room.

Check in was delightful - bubbly, personable lass keen to make sure welcome added value and felt genuine. She was mortified a few minutes later when I reappeared as my key did not work.

Once in room (top floor overlooking station) you see how cleverly designed it is. The room is small / compact with limited storage - everything flat (TV, hangers etc against wall), safe under bed and small bathroom - rather wetroom.

Some of the lights did not work, aircon not great, and bathroom shower flooded bathroom. That aside shower was great and room ideal for one - I think for two it might have felt a bit tight - especially the bathroom if you were new aquaintences - frosted glass door, close to bed, weak ventilation ....

Had great night sleep, quiet and comfy, check out easy and quick - did not try breakfast.

Would certainly recomend for sole travellers, could do with better maintenance checks / TLC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Normally I book the closest Premier Inn to where I'm working but the price for Newcastle was high and it had poor reviews on TA so I looked further and found Sleeperz. A really lucky find!

The bed was very comfortable, the decor clean and modern and the TV screen larger than typically found in a Premier Inn but the real plus was that the staff were helpfull and really polite and welcoming in a way that goes back to when hotels were a load posher than they are today. Plus the price was a real bargain for city centre Newcastle - including breakfast for under £60!

My impression was so positive that I really want to give 5 stars... so I will.
BUT... Sleeperz may have shot itself in the foot in the corners it has cut to be a budget chain. I had to ask for a change of room because the smell of the aircon in the first one was really unpleasant (those great staff offered me a free drink for my inconvenience). My new room was better but the aircon comes on automtatically and, when it does, it smells. I didn't appear to be able to get heating from the unit either. IMHO they should ask for their money back.

It may have been a mistake to make the bathrooms wet rooms - mine always smelled slightly damp and you could see the faint remnants of where mold had been scrubbed off the grouting.

Sleeperz, if you are reading this. Thanks very much to you and your staff - I will be back and I sincerely hope that the aircon and damp problems don't damage your business.

Room Tip: I had room 320 which backed onto a club - music until midnight which light sleepers would struggle t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A clean and simple low cost hotel close to the train station. In my case, too close as, in spite of comments in other reviews, I could hear only too clearly the clackety clack of the trains running over the nearby tracks. The close view of the trains would have suited a train spotter!
The bed was comfortable and the small bathroom had a good shower but it was almost like a wet room as the small screen does not stop the water swirling out of the shower and across the floor of the bathroom. This was not a major problem but don't leave anything on the floor!
In my opinion the pictures of the website suggest it is more luxurious than it is.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle

Address: 15 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1SE , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 79 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.