We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle

Save Saved
You added Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1SE , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Definitely be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on a Saturday. Wonderful location, close to the train station, bars, clubs & shops - hotel must have great sound proofing as we didn't hear a sound all night!
The staff were very helpful & friendly.
The room was spotlessly clean, comfortable & had everything we needed.
Breakfast (optional @ £6.95) was great with plenty of fresh food on offer.
Will definitely stay again & recommend to anyone travelling to Newcastle!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    175
    54
    17
    9
See reviews for
36
148
27
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Sleeperz is literally less than 5 minutes walk from the train station. There's a Metro and taxi rank at the station too and with the hotel being a short walk from the centre of town it's location is perfect.
This was my first time at a Sleeperz hotel and I almost went with what I knew and opted for one of Newcastle's Premier Inns. I'm glad I didn't. There are similarities; the hotel seems huge, the rooms are compact, the bed was decent and the prices relatively low but Sleeperz is slightly more stylish and up-to-date than the anonymous Premier Inn and on this occasion worked out 20% cheaper than the alternative.
Being there on a Friday night I expected to be kept awake by hen and stag do's, but we didn't hear a sound all night, which was an unexpected bonus.

All in all, a pleasant surprise, and if I need a reasonable room for the night again, I'll be choosing Sleeperz over Premier Inn every time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Yes I am the birthday girl mentioned by Maureen Baird. What a great place to stay,clean, minimalistic and welcoming. Lovely helpful staff, especially Tesswho is very Informative and friendly..Thank you for making my week end with my extended family special. Love the card and chocolates- a great personmal touch

Room Tip: we stayed in the room overlooking the flats opposite.Heard early morning traffic but was not disturb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on 26-27 May 2012.

This is the 3rd time that I have stayed in Sleeperz Newcastle and it is still brilliant. The location is amazing, 5 mins from the station and 2 mins around the corner from The Revolution bar, Floritas, Madam Koo's etc etc. it is very quiet, clean and modern.

Don't get me wrong, the rooms are not the biggest but everything is functional and modern and no more than you really need for a couple of nights stay.

Again, without doubt, what makes this hotel stand out from the crowd is the customer service. They take the simple, non patronising approach of engaging in friendly chit chat when at reception and fall over themselves to go that extra mile to meet residents' needs, regardless of the day or night(morning)!!!

We have booked 2 more stays later this year already as the secret is out of the bag regarding just how good this hotel actually is when visiting Newcastle.

Keep up the great customer service!!!!!

Room Tip: Higher up on the road side of the hotel is prob better than the railway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Although I use TripAdvisor regularly, this is the first ever review as I'm driven to write because the customer service excelled and the hotel itself isfirst class. We had 3 couples (ages 70+ 65+ and 50+) who were meeting up for 2 nights to celebrate a 70th birthday. Probably not the best choice of city at the weekend; incredibly busy with stag and hen do's, however, the hotel and staff were a life line. Very new hotel, great location, tasteful minimalist decor, comfy beds with everything you need in compact - the rooms are not big. Tess the Manageress and her team could not do enough for us. On being out on the Saturday evening, I called and asked Tess if someone could go to my room and take the bottle of champage and cake that we had brought for the birthday girl and perhaps have some sandwiches for us coming back. When we arrived, a table was set with candles, champagne on ice and a fab spread of food at a very reasonable price, there was even a birthday card and box of chocolates from the hotel in the birthday girls room!!. You dont get that often!! I would absolutely recommend this hotel if you visit Newcastle which is a lovely city (avoiding the stag and hen do's) and say hi to Tess and her excellent team.

Room Tip: Ask to be put on the opposite side of the train line. Although it's not too noisy, but the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel at may 18th to 20th. The rooms were clean and very modern, most of the staff were very pleasant and friendly. However the manager was rude and was very unpleasant asking us to be quiet all the time, even though he knew we was on a hen weekend. There was no music on in the hotel bar it was boring and bland.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for one night- very impressed with the staff and the room. Key things in room like air conditioning, bed and shower all really good, and clever little details throughout room. Breakfast inexpensive but excellent with a wide choice; located very close to central station with both train and metro connections. No problems with leaving bags there either while we shopped! Highly recommended and we'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle

Address: 15 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1SE , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 77 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.