We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle to your Saves list
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1SE , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Stayed at the Sleeperz in Newcastle with my family (13 and 10 year olds) during half term. Excellent hotel, very close to the station and local amenaties. Double bed was very comfy and the children loved the bunk beds. High quality linen. Great design and felt like a boutique hotel. No noise issues whatsoever, with thick double galzing. Friendly staff and decent breakfast and a great price. Very happy overall. Newcatle was a great day trip location too - and a nice change from a trip to London.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    234
    73
    18
    15
See reviews for
50
200
38
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This hotel is brilliant! I would place it somewhere between a great Travelodge and a trendy boutique hotel. Check in was quick and easy and the staff were extremely friendly and helpfull. The rooms are small but functional but there is more than enough room for your basic needs. The design has been very well thought out with the residents needs in mind.
It is located no more than 5 mins walk from Newcastle Central Station and is located right around the corner from the trendy bar area of the Diamond Strip. Having said that, we never noticed any noise from outside or from within the hotel for that matter (we stayed on a Sat & Sun night).
Overall, I am very impressed with this company and in particular their brilliant staff who genuinely take their time to find out how you are and go that extra mile to help you out at WHATEVER time of the day or night.
Well done Sleeperz........keep up the good work and you wont go far wrong!!

Room Tip: The higher up the better for views and distance from the traffic although we NEVER had an issue. Ir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed at the newly opened Sleeperz Hotel, Newcastle for two nights from 8 Feb 2012.

On our arrival at the light and airy reception, which also incorporates a comfortable seating area for residents, we were met by two smart and friendly receptionists. After a speedy check-in we were directed to our double room, on the 5th floor, via the the lift. The lift was the first of many luxury experiences that we were to experience in the following two days. It was superb, fast and efficient and we reached the top floor without realising any motion had taken place.

We quickly settled in our room and were immediately impressed by the ultra-modern effects, the room had a high ceiling and wooden flooring effect, the latter made a lasting impression on my husband. The curtains, both net and the full length ones created a rich feeling to the room. Coffee and tea making facilities were a welcome relief after our long journey. A nifty folding luggage rack was in easy access, there was also a locking lap-top safe conveniently fitted under the bed. The bedside lamps had a reading light attached, which we found very useful and unexpected. The queen size bed and duvet added to our comfort and we did not experience any noise from either inside or outside the hotel. The bathroom pod was roomy and funtional and I was extremely impressed with the wet-room, where the floor was almost dry before leaving the washroom. The room overlooked the main street and at night we had a view of the illuminated cathedral, castle and bridge.

Once we had settled in, we returned to the reception where the receptionist provided us with and excellent map , on which she kindly marked out the route to the shops in the centre of Newcastle, which are within a short walking distance from the hotel.

We returned for our evening meal, my husband thoroughly enjoyed his steak and ale pie from the reasonably varied menu. Breakfast the following day was excellent and there was
plenty of choice from both continental and/or the full breakfast, whichever was the preferred
option.

After breakfast on our second day, we caught the train from the main station to the Gateshead Metro shopping centre, for the reasonable price of £2.50 each, return fare. Well worth a visit, especially on the drizzly day we experienced.

Congratulations to Tess and the team of receptionists for their friendly and efficient service. Also thanks to the cleaning staff who kept our room spotless. It would be remiss of me also not to thank the General Manager, Mark for his patience and professionalism.

We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We checked in at 3.30pm and wanted a quick shower then go out. However there was no water in the hotel so we couldn't get showers! We got a complimentary drink and free breakfast for the inconvenience. By 5pm the water was sorted.
We had a twin room and found it very small. The rooms are very modern just small. The mirrors in the bathroom aren't great either as they're too high.
Staff are excellent, very helpful and polite.
Breakfast very average.
Brilliant location.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I experienced the most friendly and helpful staff, lovely,clean bright rooms. absolutely brilliant location only a few minutes walk from bars and restaurants and the city centre. I would 100% go back to sleeperz it exceeded my expectations big time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Really impressed with this hotel and the quality of their staff from reception through to the restaurant / bar staff.
I experienced friendly, efficient service throughout my overnight stay and would both recommend this hotel and stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the road because the sight of the dome of the Cathedral which is lit at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I was really impressed with Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle and even more impressed with their staff. They were keen (if not a little inexperienced), very helpful, locally knowledgeable and passionate about the city. We were greeted by a particularly great woman checking us in who had a wealth of restaurant recommendations to kick off our weekend.

The location I think was the best we could have stayed at - 3 minutes walk from the station and another 5 to the quayside bars and restaurant. These things were appreciated when we arrived tired and hungry at 9pm and had to run for our train on the way back. Truly unbeatable location.

The hotel is a brand new glass and steel affair from outside and is equally modern and stylish inside but isn't cold or uninviting, instead the use of colours and soft furnishings give a homely feel. It's not tell-tale budget either, little things like having a heated steam free mirror in the bathroom, a decent flat screen, a digital safe in the room, fancy bedside lamps, an immaculate stylish bathroom, down to the quality of the teaspoons on the hospitality tray tell you they haven't scrimped on too many things at all. Oh and did I mention spotlessly clean? Very comfy beds and linen too.

Friday was great however we did have some downsides staying on a Saturday night...

Negatives: There was some horrendously drunk shouting in the corridors at several points on Saturday night which woke us, sadly, low prices = stags and hens and the management may want to manage this in future. After what I assume are introductory prices rise in future this issue may abbate, or maybe we were just unlucky. Our Friday night was noise free.
Another 'biggie' was that the showers literally stopped working in the 45 minutes before checkout, presumably when many sore heads were having an enforced wake up. Literally only enough of a dribble to clean you teeth in. Eventually it returned in time for my partner to shower before we left but this was far from ideal. When we mentioned it at checkout the sympathetic staff member automatically deducted £20 from our bill for the inconvenience without us really expecting it so to their credit they were very professional about it. We asked if it was just the demand of everyone showering at once or something else. A cryptic answer of 'a bit of both' is what we got. Not exactly convincing us it wouldn't be a problem again in future. The hotel is maybe best avoided by families at weekends for the above reasons though and I can see it would make an excellent midweek business stop over so near to the station.

Small points: The wifi was extremely slow / unworkable on an iphone (the ipad managed). The window onto the train station pay and display car park (though empty) could have done with a net curtain in addition to a full curtain so you could allow light in whilst still undressed! The (although very stylish) door to the bathroom is a sliding frosted glass affair that, erm, well doesn't ensure 100% noise or visual privacy when on the porcelain throne. Ok for me and my partner, could be a bit embarassing if staying with friends.

I had slight reservations about the size of the rooms from another reviewers comments but needn't have worried. It's more than ample for a night or two.

We were very pleased to be able to leave our luggage at the hotel on checkout day, before our much later train. However the staff member didn't fill us with confidence of the security of our bags when we handed them over, asked if there was a ticket but informed there wasn't, a bit concerning in such a busy Sunday morning checkout process. However when we did collect them we found our names had been stickered onto the cases.

I realise this review may seem quite negative in parts but these points are relatively minor in the wider context of our stay. Overall I wouldn't have a moments hesitation in staying again and recommending the hotel as a great value budget place to stay for a stylish yet affordable city shopping/partying break.

Room Tip: Choose from slow clunk of cargo trains on one side of the building or street noise on the other. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle

Address: 15 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1SE , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.