We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ross Noble” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Hall

City Hall
Northumberland Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 8SF, England
44-191-261-2606
Website
Improve this listing
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ross Noble”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Hilarious man for nights in a row, I thought of the show highly and so did my parents when they went on a different night and my boyfriends parents wen they went on a different night again. It's a great venue to see comedians and even when upstairs it's been a good view and a great show. I've seen musicians here as well which have also been good because to just sit and listen was great (City and Colour, Ray Lamontagne and the Pariah Dogs etc) but I don't understand how bands like Trivium have played here. That baffles me.

The only problem with this venue in the lack of leg room, in the past I've been upstairs and it's been unbearable having to sit so cramped for so long. As nice as the venue is it is a tad dated and I would love it if they did it up just a little to provide a little bit more leg room for us tall people.

On a side note, the swimming pool at city hall is small and the one time I went it was packed and you had to zigzag around people. There are bigger pools not too far from the center - literally a bus away - which are better (Jesmond pool, Byker pool, Hadrian Leisure etc)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    38
    23
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hope it doesn't close”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

It is a great place for concert. Used to go there for Northern Sinfonia concerts before the Sage opened. Prefer City Hall to going to a huge Arena. I will never go to the Arena. I like a proper seat with a decent view.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very small and dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Went to see Gary Barlow in December and forgot how small the city hall was. It was ideal for me as I was so close to Gary it made my christmas. It does need updating and I know they are thinking of closing it but think this is a terrible idea. It is very intimate and well worth the money for who you go and see. They need some lottery money to help them refurbish and then it will be a fantastic place again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“a little dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

still attract big names but seats a little cramped for 6 footers and bars unable to cope with the demands of concerts, O2 is a better venue

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,097 reviews
190 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 633 helpful votes
“Still Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We went to see Human League last week and what a fantastic performance in one of the best venues nationwide. My friends were petitioning against its pending sale/closure which would be a travesty.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Hall also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to City Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.