We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sconetastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scrumpy Willow & The Singing Kettle

Scrumpy Willow & The Singing Kettle
89 Clayton Street, Newcastle upon Tyne, England
0191-221-2323
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Palm Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sconetastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Great coffee and what a fantastic homemade scone, its a pity we couldn't stay a bit longer, will be back though...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    28
    4
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“vegan delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

its a lovely and cute little cafe and its licensed too-sadly in the middl of bargain booze nd pound shops-possibly why its for sale. but we got off the red bus sightseeing tour right opposite and my daughter adored her vegan lunch-and i had a lovely homemade cherry scone with jam and cream and my hubby had a beer. -lovely-would go again if we lived nearer.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A gem of a find for vegetarians”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Went for lunch...pleasant bo ho surrounding even with a great painting of Han Solo on the walls....near to David Bowie! Great vegan lunch and followed by scrummy banana sweet. Great meal and swift friendly service at a good price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a great little cafe. I popped in for lunch with a friend a few days ago and was not disappointed. The menu choices are great regardless if you're veggie, vegan or a meat eater. I had feta and spinach crepes with a mint yogurt dressing on the side and my friend chose sausage and mash. The food was lovely, it tasted beautiful and was both healthy and filling. It did seem to take quite a while to arrive but it was all made fresh so I guess I can't fault them for that.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very good and caters for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

One of Newcastle's gems. The Scrumpy Willow and the Singing Kettle is a rare gem, inasmuch as you could sit a vegetarian, vegan, meat-eater and coeliac sufferer around the same table, and they could all find something on the menu they wanted to eat. I'm especially fond of the cooked-to-order omelettes, but the cakes are great too. Lots of small arts and crafts items for sale, and Fentiman's drinks on the menu! The only thing that needs improving is the toilet; it's not dire, but could do with a bit of redecorating. Other than that, highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scrumpy Willow & The Singing Kettle also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Scrumpy Willow & The Singing Kettle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scrumpy Willow & The Singing Kettle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.