We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ninos at The Gate

Ninos at The Gate
Newgate Street, Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I love Italian food and arrived to this place which we have never been before, very good atmosphere and lovely foodvplus the amazing foodd nom nom will B back very soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    46
    20
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good quality, Good food and Good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

visited here before the cinema so on a limited time visit.
Had 2 starters for £6.25 and 2 mains for £6.25 each during happy hour deal
Starters - potato skins with dips and creamy mushrooms on Focachtia - this was a little dubious as it just like a slice of toasted white bread. Mushrooms were tasty though as were the skins

mains - vesuvio pizza and arribiata pasta - both very good quality and flavoursome.

Service was great, bill very reasonable £21 quid for 2 with drinks. Definitely go back .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Visited here for lunch with my sister we both got the lunch menu which was bery good value & a decent portion size at £5.25 my sister got the salmon pasta with salad & i got the chicken & pancetta pasta with chips piping hot & very tasty, service was a little slow to take our order but we werent in a hurry so didnt mind too much & it improved after that. Will definitely go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good for but service needs improving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Took a chance on happy hour here on Monday. The prices are very reasonable for a lunch menu and it looks nice from outside. Once seated we received our drinks fairly quickly and began to consider the menu. We decided quickly to go for the salad and the half pasta and chips. However we waited and waited for our order to be taken despite the restaurant only being half full. Eventually our order was taken by a pleasant staff member. The food arrived promptly and it was very delicious. I have read some negative reviews on here and I can honestly say the only problem was a little bit of slow service which for me was not a huge problem. The price was very good and overall we enjoyed the experience for lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We ate at Ninos (at The Gate, Newcastle) in October. This was the first time we have been here and couldn't really complain as it was quiet, food was really nice and the staff were pleasant; maybe could have done with a little bit more atmosphere but overall very nice; would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ninos at The Gate also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Ninos at The Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ninos at The Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.