We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really nice food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ninos at The Gate

Ninos at The Gate
Newgate Street, Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“really nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

the salads served in Ninos are some of the best salads i have had when eating out, the quality is fantastic and they dont skimp on the ingredients either.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    46
    20
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Waiting time is appalling”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Arrived here at 9pm to find only 6people sitting on a table together and no other diners. Great. Or so we thought. Sat for 10minutes before the waitress decided to ask us if we would like any drinks. We ordered drinks and were served them promptly. Service time for the arrival of food was pretty quick - approximately 5mins. However, when serving our food one of the main dishes was wrong (served a carbonara) The waitress took it back and came out to say it would be a further 5mins for the correct main to arrive. It arrived and was slightly warm. The main course (prawn gamberetti) was advertised as being with a tomato sauce and it came in a cream sauce, which gave me the impression they'd just added a few prawns to the carbonara sauce to make up for their mistake. We had also ordered garlic bread, to which we are still waiting for.
On eating the gamberetti, albeit just warm, it was tasty... until I discovered a hair hanging from a king prawn, instantly making me feel sick.
When the waitress decided to come and clear our tables after 15mins of sitting with the empty plates on our tables, we complained when asked how the food had been. She seemed shocked when we stated all our points and her reaction to the hair being in the food was "Oh, was there?" no apology, nothing.
We didn't get charged for the main course mix up, nor did we get charged for the missing garlic bread.
Overall a very poor standard and service, especially with it being so quiet. Had it have been busy we may have understood the waiting time and mix up.
Not good at all. I won't be going back

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham-on-Tees, null, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Raw Onions and Waiting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

When we arrived at the restaurant we had a 10minute wait to be asked if we would like a drink and when we had placed our drink order we then had the pleasure of sitting watching our drinks sit at the bar whilst our waitress proceeded to clean and set up every table in sight. Once the food came we'd ordered a calzone and throughout eating it managed to obtain an entire raw red onion from within. Then once the waitress finally decided to clean away our dishes after 20minutes we asked for the bill and a further 10minutes had past by before we realised the bill wasn't coming so approached the till to pay and a bill was placed in front of me for a completely different table with no sort of verbal dialogue attempted at any point along the line!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Another brilliant visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Don't know how anyone can complain about either the food or the service at this restaurant. This was our second visit and was just as good as the first. We visited on a Sunday and ate from the happy hour menu. Both the starter's came piping hot and hubby said his pizza would be hard to beat in any other restaurant, my vegetarian risotto was equally as good, and with 2 glasses of wine for £5.95 for value this cannot be beaten. And the service was brilliant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Service quick but food poor!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Visited this restaurant for a quick meal during happy hour which was reasonably priced, however although the service was very quick, the food was not great. The starter of garlic mushrooms was served on a slice of bread and was incredibly salty and the potatoe skins were chewy. The pizza and pasta were better however still nothing special. When we received the bill they had charged us £2.20 for half a pint of orange cordial and water which was unreasonable. I would recommend Zizzis for a similar price and much better food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ninos at The Gate also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Ninos at The Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ninos at The Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.