We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“major let down” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ticinos

Ticinos
39a Bigg Market, Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“major let down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Whenever I met friends for lunch I always took them here as I found it very reasonably priced, good food, lovely atmosphere and friendly staff but the last few times I have been it has been a bit of a let down. The last time I was there was about 6weeks ago and my friend ordered a chicken dish - when it arrived it wasn't cooked properly (raw in the middle) when we told the waiter he actually argued with us. in the end we refused a replacement and left the restaurant. Unfortunately my friend was unwell for the following two days. Such a shame as it was such a good little restaurant. Won't go back again now.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    13
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go back!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

The food isn't bad but the customer service is not that good. I used to be a regular however after asking for a beer and they actually put down a can of fosters in front of me and charged £2 , didn't even put it in a glass ! Not for me thanks.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Slow service but excellent value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Went here on a match night when it was full. Took half an hour to get some starters which was way excessive and we were close to walking out, but food was very nice and excellent value when it came

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Brilliant food and excellent service this is a brilliant restaurant with a really good atmosphere and great value for money

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A little hidden Gem!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Recently ate in Ticino's. We had wanted to go elsewhere, but that particular restaurant was closed. Decided to try Ticino's. So glad we did.
We had the Lunch time menu, I had potato skins and tropicana pizza and my husband had Mushrooms Diavlo and carbonara..
His Mushrooms where delicious and the portion size was not skimped on like most lunch specials elsewhere.
It's our new regular and the waiter is a thorough gentleman and recognized us the 2nd time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ticinos also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Ticinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ticinos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.