We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Da Mimmo's

Da Mimmo's
6-10 Leazes Park Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4PF, England
0191 222 0659
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Visited here for a friend birthday, they were short staffed but still provided excellent service. The food was very good. Expensive wine + dessert

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    49
    31
    13
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wouldn't rush back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Food was moderate, staff adequate but looked a bit disinterested. Even on a half price deal we couldn't get excited about it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Might have been better if it had been busier”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

I took my boyfriend here (now Abari) last night using a living social deal we had been bought as a present. The deal was for any starter followed by any pizza, pasta or risotto. We were warmly greeted on arrival, however we were the only diners in the restaurant which did mean there wasn't much of an atmosphere! The deal was as it said and there is plenty of choice on the menu. The food was good, but possibly not the best Italian restaurant I've ever been to. The service was absolutely excellent with very friendly staff! I would probably return but I'd wait until the weekend and hopefully there might be a few more people in!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Find.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I visited here on a Groupon deal and expected as it was a deal the portions would be reflective. They weren't. The deal was for a family and included a large pizza of your choice along with a family pasta bowl and a drink each. The pizza was fantastic with plenty of topping and as fresh as they come. The pasta was served in a large bowl which you served yourself (and the kids) from which gave it a nice homely feel and again, plenty of it. They also make children feel very welcome as individuals and not irritants, something sadly lacking in a lot of places nowadays. Located just off the Haymarket next to St James Park and next to a lot of 'proper' pubs so great if you want to make a night of it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Find (Abari)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We ate here last night on a Living Social deal. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and attentive and the place has a lovely cosy feel to it.
The food was really lovely, we had liver with bacon and onions on a crostini and pizzas each for our main course - all fresh and delicious.
Would definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Mimmo's also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Ponteland, Northumberland
 

Been to Da Mimmo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Mimmo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.