We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic atmosphere and great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moulin Rouge Cafe & Grill

Moulin Rouge Cafe & Grill
Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne, England
0191-232-0276
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Telephone: 0191 232 0276
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Absolutely love this place
Every time I'm around westgate road at lunchtime there's only one place that I think of going. Moulin Rouge! I would certainly recommend the chicken tikka flatbread, it's delicious!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    24
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hutton Rudby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great little cafe with great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The wife and I tried it here last Saturday having seen the reviews. It's only a small cafe. the staff were very friendly, the food (Persian) was really tasty and the prices were reasonable. What more do you need or expect. We'll definitely go back next time we're in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A jewel in Newcastle's crown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

What can I say--- this place deserves to be number one (no I dont know the owners). We went tonight and had one of the best restaurant experiences in Newcastle... For the price (and even more), nothing beats it. Yes, it is persian food.... something you might not be familiar with,.... but it makes a wonderful change from Indian or Chinese. I sincerely wish that other places were so warm, attention to detail with quality food. Well, what are you waiting for? Go and make up your own minds......

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best Persian food in Newcastle upon Tyne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Amazing and Excellent place. Big breakfast and Chicken Tikka cannot fail your day! they are very delicious!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Once again another excellent meal with warm and welcoming service by all. DISH OF THE DAY has never let us down excellent. Moulin Rouge is a must if you are in the town.. Kebabs and rice are lush best we have ever tried .Brilliant value and fantastic staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moulin Rouge Cafe & Grill also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Moulin Rouge Cafe & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moulin Rouge Cafe & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.