We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greasy food, slow service.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jia

Jia
18 Stowell street, Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Greasy food, slow service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Came here on the spur of a moment, loads of places to choose from in Newcastle (loads on the same street) and regretted it as soon as we sat down. From the outside it looks good, inside the dinging room looked dated. One large table of people who looked to be friends of the staff and another couple, otherwise empty. We were sat on a table touching a radiator which made it uncomfortably hot and despite there being nearly no one there it took ages to get served. After ordering things did come at a normal pace but drinks service was very slow - we only got 1 drink and it arrived just after the mains were served. Got a set meal for 2, soup was OK but clearly from a tin. Everything else was either deep fried and greasy or steamed and tasted of nothing. Very disappointing and wouldn't return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    5
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Poor service and indifferent food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The starters took ages to arrive but were really quite good, except the spare ribs which were like strips of hardened rubber.
The Peking Duck was good but the main courses that followed were really not good at all. There were 4 dishes, one of which was non descript vegetables and a peculiar tasting King Prawn dish.
Overall the service was poor and the food not too good.
We won't be returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“How can this restaurant survive with this quality?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The soup was acceptable but not exceptional. It was downhill from there on in. The second course was a selection which was edible but not very tasty. The 'seaweed' was more chewy than crisp. The main was egg fried rice with three courses. One was sweet and sour king prawn which was very sweet for my taste but the other two courses were simply awful. A vegetable dish was mainly overcooked cabbage and very watery. Clearly over boiled and poorly stir fried. The beef dish was mainly watery onion with whatever purported to be meat actually being completely tasteless and chewy without any redeeming features.

The service was not helped by being told that we ate the second course too fast. Given that there was not that much on the plate for two I wondered why we took the time to eat it at all. The fact that two members of staff were chatting loudly in the middle of the restaurant to a couple of friends did not contribute to the ambience either.

I paid what was not an inexpensive bill and we left. We will not be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Appearances can be deceptive and they certainly are in relation to this restaurant. Whilst the decor is in need of a lick of paint or two, the service and quality of food at this restaurant are absolutely excellent. My girlfriend and I eat out at chinese restaurants in and around Newcastle at least once a week and the food at Jia is just as good, if not better than, the Rendezvous, Ponteland where the prices are considerably higher.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Value Lunch Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

When I looked at some of the reviews I was genuinely shocked. I have been to Jia on a few occasions and have never been disappointed. The lunch menu is excellent value and I would recommend the barbecue ribs and lemon chicken and my partner loves the curry. The service is average but the restaurant is clean and welcoming.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jia also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Jia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.