We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle

Best prices from these 11 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle to your Saves list
Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4SD, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekend Special
plymouth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We flew to Newcastle for the derby match and had booked to stay here due to it's location. The metro system makes the area very easy to reach from the airport and the fares are cheap. The hotel is literally opposite the stadium which was perfect! Only a short walk to newcastle gate which is where there are bars and restaurants. We had room service on returning from a night out and food was appauling quality - we had pizza, very undercooked so much so the cheese wasn't even melted. And pesto chicken pasta, which was cold and had practically a whole jar of pesto just shoved on it. The quality may have something to do with the time we were ordering, as the next day we ended up ordering nachos and these were lush and kept warm! Anyways. The bar attached to the hotel is a good place for a couple of drinks or pre drinking to go out. Morst of the staff were very friendly, as in the previous review the irish boy was very helpful (also cannot remember his name). Only one member of staff to complain about (unsure of his name too) but he was a younger ginger man, he was very rude, short and quite frankly a bit snobby. The hotel was very clean and tidy, and the rooms had everything you needed.
Overall a fantastic stay and would defo return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    204
    87
    17
    8
See reviews for
46
222
15
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great position, staff (especially the young Irish guy on reception not sure of his name) were especially helpful. The hotel is modern bright and clean. We stayed in a Junior Suite room 501 and this was much better than expected. the only down side was that our daughter stayed with us on the first night. We obviously closed the partition door, and she found herself extremely cold during the night as there was no heating to the second half of the room. I mentioned this to reception who said if they had known they do have extra heater (but would pass this comment on to management for the future.)
A lovely bar downstairs although do feel there is alilttle bit of a scam going on with one of the bar maids (making cocktail shakers without giving the main shaker for a top up, obviously saving it later for her friends!!) we got a third of the cocktail until we realised later that it should be a much larger drink, it was covered up very professionally but made me feel uncomfortable. This by no means spoilt our stay here, we liked the hotel. The position was perfect and rooms and service very good. Great idea if staying for a longer period to get a suite with kitchen as this is fully equiped and saves on expensive breakfasts. maids are happy to wash the pots.

Room Tip: Go to the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here for a friends wedding. Surprised by the excellent and central location (Newcastle is not that big anyway). The hotel staff were superb, from the moment we arrived till the minute we left. It is not common to receive this kind of service anymore. We had to find a dry cleaners on a bank holidays and they were incredibly helpful. The only downside is that the rooms are a bit small but at least not as small as 4* hotels in London, and for two nights was still perfect. Not sure I would like to stay 4-5 nights in such small room though. Breakfast was very good and again the service was fantastic The beds and pillows are incredibly comfortable. Parking was great, just £8 per day, reasonably cheap fro central Newcastle. And free internet, another bonus! So... for a weekend break, with no doubt I would recommend to stay at this hotel. V

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here with some freinds while visiting Newcastle the hotel is very modern the staff are freindly and very helpfull. The rooms are well laid out and very spacious. It is close to all the centre attractions, nightlife and chinatown but quiet enough at night. I would use this hotel again if I return to the city

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

wow factor reception and friendly staff. Great location for toon. Small problems in room began to add up like broken telephone, ensuite lock broken, noisy heating. Wet room becomes skating rink without non slip mats. A big factor was the one star breakfast which offerred much if you read the menu and delivered little. £16 each for breakfast is a lot for a get it yourself, food left for hours, no set talbles, 1 coffee only service. Interestingly the breakfast menu was only displayed in the evening - not at breakfast. What a difference to the chain's Canadian roots. We stayed in Sandman Vancouver some years ago and it did everything well without purporting to be something it wasn't.

Room Tip: higher floors less road noise. ask yourself if you really need a full blown kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Impressive entrance but under the surface is disappointing. When I opened the door to my room I was met by a mild smell of vomit and an exceptionally noisy air-conditioning/heater unit. As I had to get onto a conference call straight away I had to stay in the room for 30+ minutes. I could not wait to get out. I have to say once I told reception they were very quick to move me and upgrade me into a suite. The suite looked great but also had a very noisy heater/air-con. I agree with a previous reviewer - it was difficult to hear the TV when this unit was switched on.
Very small room, looked very nice but didn't function well. No main light, had to switch floor standing light on a the plug socket.
Room service - gratuity line, when gratuity already included in the bill, no serviette, no salt & pepper
On the positive side, shower was excellent with a drench and handheld. Kitchen with microwave very handy. Staff polite, efficient and respectful

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Altyc,

Thank you for taking the time to write the above review, many thanks for bringing these above mentioned points to my attention I will look into this further. The air con is something which we are working with the supplier to correct please accept my apologies for any disturbance this may have caused you. We view all feedback as crucial to enhancing our service one again thank you for taking the time to review.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were allocated a room on the ninth floor with a great view of St James Park. Being on this floor we were far enough above the traffic for this not to be an issue.

There were a few niggles – neither of the bedside lights worked, nor did one of the main lights, the TV switched itself on at full blast at 7.15am and the kettle is not quite the right size to fit under the tap to fill it up, involving some wrestling to get the kettle back out from the basin. Also the air conditioning/heating unit was so noisy you couldn’t have it switched on for very long.

However, these are only minor things. The staff were very helpful. The room was clean and tidy (if a bit small) and the bed was very comfortable. A good base for seeing all that Newcastle has to offer.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Shjc71,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay, your feedback is greatly appreciated we shall take all of the above points into consideration.

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle

Address: Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 77 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (all this within 5 minutes walking radius) In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.