We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location but rooms cramped and heating rubbish” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel to your Saves list
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4SD, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ultimate Shopping Package
Teddington, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good central location but rooms cramped and heating rubbish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Great central location right next to football stadium , near university and shops. Staff on check in very friendly but although room looks contemporary it is cramped and has too much furniture in it. The aircon/ heating system was noisy and inefficient. We needed a double and a twin room so had to upgrade and up the cost to get a twin room - this turned out to be a lovely big room with a full kitchen well worth the extra £20.
Breakfast in the bar was tasty and had lots of choice but pretty much everyone had to wait for eggs and a number of the other choices kept running out too. I had to help myself to glasses from behind the bar for juice. Simply not enough staff.
Wish I had read the other reviews before we booked it! Will probably try elsewhere for next visit

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Becky C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with ourselves at the Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle. We are pleased to learn of the high ratings which you attributed to our cleanliness, service and location. I will be delighted to share with our reception team your kind remarks regarding the check in staff. I am sorry that the heating system was noisy and inefficient within your allocated room. We do supply additional portable heaters to guests on a request basis should they require same. During your stay we unfortunately experienced some operational challenges regarding staffing numbers for breakfast however, I am happy to advise these have been fully addressed. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Paul Smith - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    221
    99
    20
    10
See reviews for
51
242
17
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

This was the second time I have stayed at the Sandman and that alone speaks volumes. This last time, I stayed on the 10th floor which has only recently been opened. A few small issues, like the telephones not working on first night (soon rectified) and an electrical buzzing noise from the bathroom. The assistant manager Kelly was worth her weight in gold and offered to relocate me (I was in my pyjamas and didn't want the hassle) but I know I am fussy (worked in a lead role for quality in the public sector...so I just am) but I was made to feel very special...not just a whinger,
Is a beautiful and friendly hotel....meals were palatable but have had better. The Geordie smile and friendliness have win me over...and will definately 100% stay again. My advice for future travellers.....if you have any issue...just tell them. They will sort for you. Thank you Kelly and staff.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Janet,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the warm and friendly team. I will be sure to share your kind words directly with Kelly who will be delighted that you will be returning again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Paul Smith – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed and again does not disappoint. Had lunch in gastrobistro, chicken Thai stir fry was delicious. Very good value when booking in advance, also opposite st james football ground so ideal for watching the game. Will come again and again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Syd1973,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback following your recent stay with ourselves at the Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle. We loved your picture of our Shark Club chicken Thai stir fry which definitely is one of my personal favourites too. Our excellent location next to St. James Park is indeed extremely convenient and our advance purchase rates are great value. Thank you for your continued business we truly appreciate your loyalty, the team look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Paul Smith – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

A new and very modern hotel situated directly opposite St James Park stadium; home of Newcastle United football club. Although the hotel attracts a largely business oriented customer it has a very strange look and feel to it that frankly I didnt like; but ultimately it may come down to personal taste. The interior design, furnishings, decor are very odd - very modern, lots of glass, chrome, black trimmings and strange ornaments, e.g. the lifesize black horse in the lobby with a lampshade on it's head - certainly quirky. I am sure it will all appeal to many but not me I'm afraid - I found the whole thing a bit pretentious and 'clinical'. The bar is very dark with countless TV's on the walls playing non-stop football from dawn to dusk and has a kind of 'night club' feel to it. It gets packed with a largely male crown (non-resident) soaking up the football, beer and...........well, 'scenary'. The bar staff and waitresses are all of a certain type and the bar is clearly trying to have the look and feel of the 'Hooters' experience - but in a hotel frequented by both male and female business types? Very odd and to be honest not really appropriate - difficult to use for evening meals etc due to the football crown so almost forced to pop out for refreshments. Rooms are also very modern, new and a bit over done for my liking but the showers/wet room are excellent! I'm not saying this is a bad hotel - staff very efficient/friendly, good facilities, very clean, very good breakfast - although served in the 'night club' - its just that I'm not sure what its trying to be, who it sets out to please and ultimately I didnt like it and wouldnt use it again for either business or leisure; unless organising a 'stag party'!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear DenningHertfordshire,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent visit with ourselves. We view all feedback be it complimentary or indeed critical as crucial to enhancing our commitment to customer service and hospitality. We were delighted to learn that you found the team very efficient and friendly coupled with your observations regarding our good facilities, excellent wet rooms, cleanliness and very good breakfast.

I am sorry that our décor and design was not to your individual preference. Our Shark Club concept has proved exceptionally successful for our company with some ten units trading within the UK and Canada. We understand your personal sentiments however, are disappointed that these outweigh the numerous positives which you detail in relation to your intentions to return again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Paul Smith – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

A very pretty and well maintained hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpfull in all situations. However, the rooms are very cold in winter and the heater/air conditioner is very noisy, it sounds like a helicopter and it is improssible to sleep when it is on. But if you turn it off at night the room gets very cold by the morning - I woke up when it was 10 degrees in the room.
The breakfast is good and tasty, but a little bit overpriced - about £12.
The atmosphere in the bar at night is really nice - tasty cocktails and good food, however there are TVs everywhere that are a bit distracting.

Room Tip: Ask for an extra heater in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Great location great staff rooms clean and tidy only thing I didn't like was no bath other than that no faults what so ever would recommend to friends and family staff were great as I left items in the room they posted them to me free of charge

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

New hotel with all the quirks. Basic rooms are very small, and quite dark inside due to tinted windows but very trendy. Shower/wet room can be a bit of a shock as the showers are so powerful and water gets everywhere.
Comfy beds, hotel is good location for shopping and football. On the whole, Good value for money and clean.
Sports bar downstairs is very much a 'gentlemans' bar!!!
Taxi service to the Metro arena was excellent. Collected from the lobby by suited driver. very professional.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel

Address: Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 79 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (All this within 5 minutes walking radius) In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.