We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Football Weekend Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle

Save Saved
You added Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4SD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Special
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Football Weekend Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Went down to Newcastle for the weekend to watch a Newcastle United football match and stayed at this hotel across the road from St. James Park. Loved the room, lovely decor, speedy wi-fi and nice shower. The cooked breakfast was fantastic and the bar was something else.

I didn't know there were Hooter-type bars in the UK until we walked into the bar in the evening. Quite an experience. The hotel is within walking distance of the city centre and China Town so entertainment in the evening is no problem. All in all, a nice hotel and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    152
    64
    14
    6
See reviews for
37
165
12
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here a few weeks ago. Between us I saw all 3 types of room; King, studio and suite. They were all of excellent size, with modern decor. The only thing id pick on is that I don't think the rooms have been finished to the greatest quality...I'd imagine the fixtures and fittings may wear and age pretty quickly. My room also wasn't as clean as it could/should have been...there were bits on the carpet and a couple of hairs in the bathroom! The bed was really comfy though and the staff were welcoming and helpful.

Location was great (we were West Brom away fans), not only for the football, walking into the town centre where all the shops took about 5 mins.

My mother and auntie took the benefit of the shopping package that i'd booked the room under direct with the hotel (Fenwicks voucher) which they loved!!

There is a sports bar attached to the hotel/part of the hotell. For bar food it was really good, we tried several things on the menu...the portion of nachos that turned up was the largest i've ever seen in my life!! very friendly staff too.

Lovely entrance, hotel reception. Would definitely reccommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing St James Park for a better view, honest :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had an overnight stay in this hotel on Friday night (9th Nov). It is situated opposite Newcastle United football stadium. Our room was described as a king room, but it was surprisingly small. Although it did not feel claustrophobic due to the large windows which did open, the bed was very comfortable and the en suite was very much in the style of a Swedish wet room. There were however, a few negatives, the radiator was extremely noisy although particularly efficient, we ordered some food from the room service menu; they missed off the condiments which we requested, and these would have been appreciated since some of food tended to be a bit dry. Car parking is available but the hotel charge £8 per night, if however if you choose to use another car park if will cost you a lot less as there is no charge between 6 pm and 8 am. One of my pet hates is synthetic filled pillows, I do realise that I am probably in a minority, but I do prefer feather pillows, this hotel does not offer pillow preference so if you do prefer your natural pillows bring your own.

Room Tip: Keep luggage to a minimum as the rooms are quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Found the hotel to be very clean, modern, and beautifully decorated. Staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful, and also gave us a complimentary upgrade due to us celebrating our engagement. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and will certainly be staying here again. Even without the upgrade this hotel offers excellent value considering its location.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co durham
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here for one night when visiting Newcastle to watch Michael McIntyre at the arena.Brilliant show by the way! Arrived early but checked in staight away as they had rooms ready. We were on the 8th floor overlooking St James park . The room was small but very modern and clean with everything you need. You get the normal tea coffee facilities but you also get a fridge and microwave. The bathroom was very modern with wet room but the negative for me was no bath. Good toiletries. The location was very good close to the shops and many eating places.This also proved to be a down side too as our room was on the road side and you could hear the traffic noise quite alot hence a good nights sleep was not had. I would stay here again but would request a room away from the road even though you would not get the impressive views. A good nights sleep is more important! Another thing to point out is there is no mirror on the wall where the dressing table is which proved difficult to dry my hair.All in all it is a very modern hotel pleasing to the eye on the inside especially the entrance area.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper request a room that doesn't overlook St James Park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Spent 1 night here and the hotel was welcoming and staff to. Stayed on 8th floor overlooking ST. James Park, room was smaller than most I've stayed in but was fine for my wife and I. There was a lot of road noise and sirens also as this is not too far away from the hospital, also guests made a noise in the early hours so didn't sleep too well. Hotel is well located and I liked the fact you could help yourself to hot drinks in reception. Never ate in the hotel as it was £11.95 each for breakfast if you pre booked and £16.95 each if you didn't. I would probably stay here again but away from roadside even though you would miss out on the views. Friendly staff though. Fridge and microwave in the king room a nice touch to!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Myself and three girls stayed here for one night. The hotel lobby is beautiful and check-in was quick and easy. It is on a main road so you do have to park and walk across but it's three mins max!

The room was stunning. We had a family room so one double bed and bunk beds. Bathroom was beautiful and the shower was great! We had champagne in the room on arrival with plenty glasses provided.

Breakfast the next morning was yummy - hot buffet with plenty of choice right up until closing.

We had a great stay and would definitely return again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle

Address: Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 79 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (all this within 5 minutes walking radius) In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.