We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Newcastle Airport

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Newcastle Airport to your Saves list
Travelodge Newcastle Airport
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Newcastle Airport
Kenton Bank, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3TY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on 2nd November for 1 night before we headed to a wedding the following day. We paid £15 for the night which was value for money. We arrived rather late after driving up from Aberdeen. There is a Toby Carvery attached to it which closed at 11pm. I found certain members of the staff rude in here.

For £15 the room was fine apart from the bed which was a disaster. I dont know what it is about Travelodges but we had previously stayed in Glasgow Central one and it was same problem. The bed sinks in the middle whenever you get in. Never got any sleep whatsoever.

I wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Thundercatsgirl

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. If you would like to tell us more please visit the main Travelodge website and follow the 'contact us' link.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    11
    13
    12
See reviews for
11
28
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed at the travelodge for 1 night thursday november. Rooms a little dated but adequate for what we required managed to get a twin which is unusual for a travelodge.What a place to find in the dark. sat nav could not find directions for the postcode given supposed to be travelodge newcastle airport thought it might be in the airport vicinity.Took ages to find and only came across it by luck.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear billstorey

Thank you for your comment.

We are sorry to learn about your disappointing stay.

The points you’ve raised will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

Your feedback is important to us, and we would like to investigate the issues. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form, to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here before an early flight from Newcastle airport. Had a meal at the adjacent Toby Carvery. Very busy for a Monday night and you would therefore expect the food, which was replenished on the carvery regularly, to be hot. It was all very tepid and very disappointing.
The room was of a very poor standard. The bed creaked every time you moved and we ended up sleeping with our heads at the foot of the bed which was slightly quieter. There was a constant banging of fire doors and so we has a very poor night. Will not be staying here again.
Avoid at all costs..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear MisterD25,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear you have cause for complaint, and that your stay did not meet with your expectations on this occasion.

Your valuable comments will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

In addition, we would like to fully investigate your concerns with the bed. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form to securely provide us with your confirmation number and full details of your complaint.

We will then be able to fully investigate your concerns with the Hotel Management team, and provide a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dumfries
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

One of the newer travelodges ,clean and of good standard Toby Inn attached which also serves great value tasty meals.Not that close to Airport so no aircraft noise. Would use this Travelodge again as it is all round great value Toby inns also do great value breakfasts

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed at a number of Travelodges, I was very pleased with this hotel. It has more character than others, the staff are very welcoming and it is attached to a Toby Cavery. Easy to get to, but I wouldn't say it's that near the airport if that's what you're staying for!
Rooms well soundproofed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Scottish Borders
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

When you book a Travelodge you think you know what you are getting. Not at this one! It is simply awful. Scruffy, unkempt with staff who don't give a damn and don't have a clue. The bed was uncomfortable, the room noisy - street noise. I would not stay here again for anything. Check the park benches first - you'd be better off. Oh and it wasn't too clean either. We wouldn't go near the shower!!

Room Tip: Just don't bother - go elsewhere - anywhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear georgie0

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear you have cause for complaint, and that your stay did not meet with your expectations on this occasion.

Your valuable comments will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

In addition, we would like to fully investigate your concerns regarding customer service and external noise. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form to securely provide us with your confirmation number and full details of your complaint.

We will then be able to fully investigate your concerns with the Hotel Management team, and provide a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Beware when booking the travelodge Airport its not. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Its nearer to Kingston Park than Newcastle Airport, it cost us £7 taxi fare to get to the airport. The room was clean and serviceable and the staff were lovely, but all there was in the bathroom was a peice of used!!!!!!!!!soap, yuk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Newcastle Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Newcastle Airport

Address: Kenton Bank, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3TY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 78 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Newcastle Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Newcastle Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.