We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never, ever stay here.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Heroes Hostel-Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Heroes Hostel-Hotel to your Saves list
Heroes Hostel-Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   71 Grainger Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5JE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never, ever stay here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Arrived at heroes hotel/hostel and we weren't quite sure how to get into the hotel as there was no other entrance except through the chippy/takeaway. As we walked in we were greeted by the stench of greasy fatty oily disgrace in the air and a woman shouting over the counter asking us if we were checking in, dont think any of us could quite believe it. While checking in we were told the code for the security door was written on the chip shop counter for the world to see and if we needed towels to give them a shout so we thought fair enough. We were in room 8 there was 7 of us sharing this room there was 3 triple bunk beds. We soon realised that other than the beds there was little else not even curtains not that you needed them as the windows were so black with filth it was permanently dark. There was no towels in the room so only one of the group had a shower as she had her own towel and nobody dared risking going down to ask for towels as we were unsure what we would get. The shower broke while she was in there. There was tears in the carpet and a piece of metal sticking out of the carpet that I managed to hurt my foot on. There was 1 key between 7 of us and what we werent told is to leave the key behind the counter when we went out so it caused a whole fight when I arrived back leading to me sat for a good hour unable to get in my room as our group had separated! I was threatened with being asked to leave by a man behind the counter for asking for a spare key several times. Absolute disgrace.
Outside our room there was a bucket filling up with brown water that was coming from the ceiling and a giant yellow mayonnaise bucket was placed underneath and towels thrown down to catch the overflow that was happening in the morning when we got up as it had not been emptied all night.
£30PP is by far the biggest joke I have ever come accross in my life. I wouldnt pay a pound to stay here it's a hotel from hell and needs shut down, NOW!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Father Ted C, Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Can not adequately respond to this multiple dilemma, a complaint from start to finish, a bad weekend for everyone, a genuine bad review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    5
    5
    16
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was truly a stay in hell, at 1st we booked for 5 and called to say one pulled out and can we maybe downgrade,i was told that there were no 4 person rooms left ,thats fair enough,i asked that because one had pulled what was chances of refund,i was advised £30(half of 1 person cost) would be given,when we got there i was told that the boss is stubborn and that no refund would be given.We were told that we had to keep key at premises if we were leaving due to there being only one key(this myth was dispelled when remarkably another key was found when needed.The stairway had been freshly painted,carpets worn and unhoovered,beds never made for you,window in room couldnt close and was "hidden"by black blind,we were at the top of property,unbelievable gradient of steps,some steps were only half there(steps had to be taken splay-feeted due to the being so little)Room was filthy,used eyelashes and used false nails on the carpet and windowsill..beds uncomfy and so cramped it was seriously worse than a prison cell.There WAS NO HOT WATER!!!!,a used cotton bud from previous guest,the shower base was filthy and hairs showing both inside and outside shower,ther was no brush for toilet no lock for bathroom door either,THE NO HOT WATER part is unexcusable and would NOT recommend this place to anyone,even not to "rest your head" for a night

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Father Ted C, Guest Relations Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Sorry about your stay, I hope you enjoyed the nightlife of the City, We do advertise that we offer no frills! Our Hostel-Hotel provides no amenities except an En-suite and beds. You pay for the room on a capacity basis if you reduce your number that's your loss, we did offer a £30 rebate which under our conditions of bookings we did not have too. Because we do not provide multiple keys we ask guests to leave the room key at Reception.We are in the process of a refit and did not expect the work in hand to be a problem. The building is three stories high, is 200 years old and has no lifts, the stairs are original to the premises. The previous guests were males and may have been cross dressers, however the rooms are always cleaned. I feel that because this guest did not get a full refund (which she was not entitled too) she over egged her review. Her comparison to a prison cell, I cannot.comment as I have not been to prison. We do not see the need to have a lockable bathroom door, guests who know each other have their own morals and manners. We are aware of no reason for there being no hot water. We do apologise for the missing toilet brush and stand, we are never surprised at the equipment some guests will steal. Another set would have been provided had we been informed. There is a great comparison between a 5star Hotel at £300 per night and a Hostel at £30 per night.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easington village
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My friend and I made a spontaneous trip to Newcastle on Wednesday night and booked a cheap and cheerful room for a one night stay. Heroes was about £40 for the night.
It did the job!
I wasn't aware of where we were staying as my friend booked it... Although there is no parking available nearby we parked at the Law building for Northumbria Uni (as my friend has a car parking pass for this) this May have been a problem however if we didn't have this!
Was gob smacked when I realised it was a pizza shop, which we checked into over the pizza counter! But the bloke we spoke to when checking in was friendly and showed us to our rooms straight away.

The room was very basic and small with just a triple bunk bed in it. A bin in the corner, two plug sockets and a bathroom. No towels etc provided. But for one night we didn't really mind as we just got ready and went out!

Great location right next to The Gate and in walking distance of all the good bars! Centre of everything!
Would probably stay here again for the same one night spontaneous stay! :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Father Ted C, Guest Relations Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, you at least had sense to recognised our basic amenities, If required a towel is requested it could be provided for a small refundable deposit. We have lost many towels over the years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I like a good old cheap and cheerful hotel. Especially when your only there for a night out. This did the trick. Simple, basic. Excellent location walking distance to the bars etc. Great when your in heels :-)

Room Tip: There isn't a good room LOL!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Father Ted C, Guest Relations Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, you at least had sense to recognised our basic amenities, If required a towel is requested it could be provided for a small refundable deposit. We have lost many towels over the years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here as a stag group. It was exactly what we needed, a room with beds right in the centre of Newcastle. The beds are very uncomfortable if you are sober, the rooms and bathroom are reasonably clean. The hostel as I would call it, in no way could you call it a hotel, is only there for one purpose and that is to house stag/ hen groups when they are not out drinking. So bearing in mind it's location and purpose it is not badly priced. If you want something more than a room with a bed and a bathroom go somewhere else. WARNING they do take £20 deposit per person so don't trash the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Father Ted C, Guest Relations Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, you at least had sense to recognised our basic amenities. Yes we are a Hostel-Hotel and the reason we take a £20 refundable deposit is because of so much damage created to the Hotels across the country
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The only positives are the location which is faultless to local bars and clubs and the price which is about the cheapest you'll get around. The beds were very uncomfortable and the carpets are in desperate need of a clean. The bathroom was fine and toilet and shower worked fine. We were in the top room which is a long walk up the stairs about three flights. We left the window open most the time however this left a horrible smell from the chip shop downstairs. Overall we got it very cheap but even so I think that the quality could have been at least a little better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Father Ted C, Guest Relations Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, you at least recognised our basic amenities. Being on the top floor was a little unlucky, extra oxegen is required if your not fit. Not sure if you were at the rear of the premises also, unfortunately the extraction units run to the top of the buildings from the Takeaway and all the other food premises nearby. It might have been best to keep the window closed, sorry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have stayed in many hostels in my time and can honestly say this is by far the worst place I have ever stayed. The room was dirty, the shower barely worked and my mattress was so bad I couldn't quite believe it, it was basically a bag of springs. This place is NOT worth the location. Find somewhere else!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Father Ted C, Guest Relations Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
I can only apologise the room was not cleaned to your satisfaction, they are always cleaned after use, and the shower may have not worked properly because of variable pressure, sometimes you have to try a little later on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heroes Hostel-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heroes Hostel-Hotel

Address: 71 Grainger Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Heroes Hostel-Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget Hotel/Hostel Welcome to Heroes Hotel - Hostel... Heroes Hostel-Hotel is within the walls of the City of Newcastle on Tyne. It is 10 metres from the famous 'Bigg Market'. You are within walking distance of the Theatre Royal, the Cathedrals, the Metro Radio Arena, Newcastle United Football Ground, the Newcastle Quayside and Bridges. 'The Gate' entertainment complex, bars and Aspers Casino. The 'EldonSquare' Shopping Centre is only 100 metres from Heroes Hostel-Hotel. The Gateshead MetroCentre is a 15 min bus or train ride away. The whole of the North East history is within your reach, visit the world famous 'Hadrians Wall' and 'Vindolanda Roman Camp' which is an acclaimed World Heritage site. Also Fun days can be arranged such as paintballing, go-karting, clay pigeon shooting Heroes Hostel-Hotel is in the City Centre and is in a redeveloped Victorian Building. It has 11 bedrooms over 3 floors, comprising Twin & Triple Bunk Beds in 11 rooms for 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8 and 9 persons. All of the 11 rooms are en-suite with shower, toilet & washbasin. The private rooms all include bed linen and private shower rooms. Guests can also make use of free Wi-Fi at Heroes Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Heroes Hostel-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heroes Hostel-Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.