We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-go for Coffee lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flat Caps Coffee

Flat Caps Coffee
13 Ridley Place, Newcastle upon Tyne, England
0191 232 7836
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $5
Cuisines: Sandwiches
Restaurant details
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must-go for Coffee lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Ordered their cold drip coffee, cappuccino and carrot cake. Definitely one of the best coffee I've ever tried, taste good on its own without adding sugar.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    15
    6
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, great coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

This lovely little cafe lives up to its very positive reputation. Great atmosphere very special coffee range. Shame about the squirty cream.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the things I miss the most when I'm on holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I love this place. Simple. Amazing coffee (though I'm not a coffee fan myself) and the best hot chocolate in the UK. The food is also lovely and homemade, the atmosphere relaxing, my favourite chill out spot in town AND value for money - I'm so glad I found it! I have brought friend after friend there and none have looked back since. I miss it when I'm away from Newcastle and I cannot wait to get back! Award winning barista with a friendly, welcoming personality. What's not to love?!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“More than a coffee place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Yes the coffee is great, as are the homemade foody things...

But this place is so atmospheric , joe is a barista of real wizardry. Just go & see, you will be thrilled by the personal "Joe" service

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

If you're wanting a nice cup of coffee, you dont need to go far with flat caps being just off the busy northumberland high street. Much better than anywhere else in town and very nicely priced.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flat Caps Coffee also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Flat Caps Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flat Caps Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.