We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thyme Square Cafe

Thyme Square Cafe
5 Station Road | South Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 1QD, England
+44 191 285 4603
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top notch breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I had the full English breakfast and it was top notch! Fresh quality ingredients! Staff we very friends and a nice cosy atmosphere! Will certainly be going ona regular basis!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    11
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“gorgeous food, friendly & helpful staff reasonably priced.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great food cooked from scratch when ordered, staff were lovely and very helpful.
there was four of us today in our party and we all agree that the whole experience here was very good. i will definitely be coming back & i would definitely recommend this cafe to other people.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

the food is top class, always the freshest ingredients used and the pie is to die for, been going here for about 2years now after our weekly shop and never once disappointed, Pauls food is amazing and his manor is very good, don't know how anyone could call him rude, Andy is very helpful and kind as well, this place has become a weekly treat and would recommend it to anyone even people with children are most welcome.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Well worth a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a small independent cafe. The food is good and the prices reasonable. Paul and Andy are very welcolming and the customer service is excellent. The cafe is not licensed. My only minor criticism is that the food is sometimes a bit too greasy for me.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unfriendly Caff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The food is delicious, fresh, plentiful and well cooked but while the front of house staff are excellent, the chef/owner is disagreeable to the point of rudeness. I no longer give my custom to this caff where the standards of welcome by the chef have been on the downward slide for some time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thyme Square Cafe also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Thyme Square Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thyme Square Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.