We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iconic bridge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tyne Bridge

The Tyne Bridge
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Improve this listing
Type: Bridges
Attraction Details
Pitmedden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Iconic bridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Having lived here for 2 years it became apparent quite quickly that the first sight of the Tyne Bridge meant I was home , a very iconic sight from all angles

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    90
    18
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Iconic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I get a shiver down my spine every time I travel North across the Bridge into Newcastle... you get a real sense of arrival.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Glad I did this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

With time on my hands I decided to walk across this great bridge from Newcastle to Gateshead. Views amazing, Returned to Newcastle side over the Millenium Bridge. Took too many photos. None better than are already posted. The engineering of this bridge is fantastic...under the bridge it looks just like it had been dropped from outer space...huge support pillars fitted in around the buildings are amazing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice but not amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Nice views. Good place to take photographs. Interesting angle once you have crossed to the other side.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Historic architecture and a symbol of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Impressive structure with the sweeping arch over the Tyne just another testament to the trading glory of this historic port. I was very interested to find out that both this and the Sydney Harbour bridge were influenced and based on the same bridge.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tyne Bridge also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Tyne Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tyne Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.