We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iconic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tyne Bridge

The Tyne Bridge
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
edinburgh
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Iconic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I get a shiver down my spine every time I travel North across the Bridge into Newcastle... you get a real sense of arrival.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    121
    25
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Glad I did this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

With time on my hands I decided to walk across this great bridge from Newcastle to Gateshead. Views amazing, Returned to Newcastle side over the Millenium Bridge. Took too many photos. None better than are already posted. The engineering of this bridge is fantastic...under the bridge it looks just like it had been dropped from outer space...huge support pillars fitted in around the buildings are amazing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice but not amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Nice views. Good place to take photographs. Interesting angle once you have crossed to the other side.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
69 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Historic architecture and a symbol of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Impressive structure with the sweeping arch over the Tyne just another testament to the trading glory of this historic port. I was very interested to find out that both this and the Sydney Harbour bridge were influenced and based on the same bridge.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Just one of the many views you find around Newcasle,whether you are walking,driving,or on the metro.It has been around a long time,but not sure when built,well over a 100 year ago.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tyne Bridge also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Tyne Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tyne Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.