We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iconic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tyne Bridge

The Tyne Bridge
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Improve this listing
Type: Bridges, Landmarks
Attraction details
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Iconic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I get a shiver down my spine every time I travel North across the Bridge into Newcastle... you get a real sense of arrival.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    94
    18
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Glad I did this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

With time on my hands I decided to walk across this great bridge from Newcastle to Gateshead. Views amazing, Returned to Newcastle side over the Millenium Bridge. Took too many photos. None better than are already posted. The engineering of this bridge is fantastic...under the bridge it looks just like it had been dropped from outer space...huge support pillars fitted in around the buildings are amazing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice but not amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Nice views. Good place to take photographs. Interesting angle once you have crossed to the other side.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Historic architecture and a symbol of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Impressive structure with the sweeping arch over the Tyne just another testament to the trading glory of this historic port. I was very interested to find out that both this and the Sydney Harbour bridge were influenced and based on the same bridge.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Just one of the many views you find around Newcasle,whether you are walking,driving,or on the metro.It has been around a long time,but not sure when built,well over a 100 year ago.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tyne Bridge also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Tyne Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tyne Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.