We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What did The Romans do for us?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Segedunum

Segedunum
Buddle St. | Wallsend. Should be in North Shields closer, Newcastle upon Tyne NE28 6HR, England
44-191-295-5757
Improve this listing
Type: History Museums, Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What did The Romans do for us?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Annoying that you have to pay for this museum and Arbeia in South Shields is free. But it is an excellent place and overlooks the Tyne. The Roman Baths are canny (good). The views from the Tower are brilliant and the camp is well labelled.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    32
    13
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“First class preservation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The remains are very well conserved and easily accessible.. The viewing tower is incredible but I do wonder how much this must have cost- and how much tax payers money. The videos are instructive and worth a visit especially on a rainy day. It's a good morning out with the kids and a significant site at the eastern end of the wall. We appreciate the work that has gone into the conservation and it must be a great resource for local schools. Not much to do associated with the site and a dearth of restaurants nearby for lunch.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimini, Italia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I went to Newcastle just to visit the Adrian Wall and theyr ancient buildings. Segedunum was a very nice surprice: very nice museum with videos, recreations and illustrations where you can learn about the history of romans in England and how romans lived in uk.
There's also a recreation of a section of the wall just outside the site and a recreation of "bagni" roman bathroom with calidarium, frigidarium and tiepidarium. Very very interesting.
From the tower of the museum you can see the entire storic site with a interesting backgroung of the river Tyne and the Newcastle's countryside.
Very polite personnen, possibility of multilanguage audioguiden at the reception (english, italian, german, spanish, french and, i think, also other language, but i don't remember).
Bathrooms and cafè are available for visitors.
I absolutly suggest it

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A local museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The visitors center was fairly interesting with Roman clothes to try on for kids and plenty to see from archaeology digs. I was a little disappointed that the Roman baths were not available to use!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The school children were spellbound”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This isn't the place to see the best preserved section of Hadrian's Wall or a Roman fort; the foundations of both are level to the ground. Even so, my husband and I felt that the stop was worth our time and admission ticket. The ninth floor of the viewing tower (reached by elevator, thankfully), is a good place to start, as the video program there explains the three historical periods of development at that location. Effort has gone into making this museum interesting to elementary school-aged children. It is a very interactive--giving them the chance to see, hear, touch and even try on costumes from the Roman era. The day we visited the reconstructed bath a "Roman soldier" held a class of school children spellbound with his explanations of Roman life.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Segedunum also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Segedunum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Segedunum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;