We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle upon Tyne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clifton House Hotel
Save Saved
You added Clifton House Hotel to your Saves list
46 Clifton Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 6XH, England (Formerly Chirton House Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The character of this beautifully building is enhanced by the desire of the owners to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Happy to oblige with maps and also to advise of places to dine, a welcome and refreshing change from soulless chains..

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Very close to the city centre and St James Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    25
    5
    4
    7
See reviews for
19
19
19
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed one night traveling alone to do research in the local genealogy library. Was immediately welcomed upon arrival, shown around, offered any assistance that I needed, and then left alone, which was exactly what I wanted. Bathroom was just down the hall and there was (bliss!) a large tub and very hot water for thawing out after walking around the city. There's also a shower room next to it, if that's what you prefer. I didn't miss en suite facilities at all (many rooms here do have them), my room was furnished with a touch of elegance that I very much enjoyed, and the price was good for my budget. Wi fi worked fine. Bed was very comfortable, the hotel was quiet, and breakfast was first rate. There was a selection of cereals, juice and yogurt available, and staff brought me a lovely pot of coffee while I waited for my cooked-to-order meal, made by Caterina exactly as I asked for it. The dining room is charming, and there was a fire burning cheerfully in the fireplace on the snowy morning that I was there. After breakfast, Caterina gave me a map and helped me figure out my bus route into the city. It's only a few minutes walk to catch the bus from the hotel, and a few minutes after that I was in the city center. If you're arriving and not familiar with Newcastle, it's probably a good idea to take a taxi to the hotel the first time (mine was 7 pounds from the rail station) but after that you can get along fine with the city bus service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was travelling to the city for my brother's wedding, and had to book a room at the last minute due to plans falling through. The owner was very understanding and gave a lot of advice and help, including offering to keep my bags available after checking out, although this didn't prove necessary, and giving me maps and directions. The hotel itself is a half hour walk from town, or about four pounds in a taxi.
I was only concerned by the shared facilities for the single room which I paid for, but they were clean, spacious and well decorated; the room itself was small but light and pleasant. Breakfast was lovely, and well presented, and the whole thing was an absolute pleasure- especially compared to some places I've paid more for.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the shared facilities, although the single rooms are VERY single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

What a great stay, from the warm welcome (at 11 at night) to the breakfast to the rooms - it was perfect. Don't be put off by the shared bathrooms (we nearly were), but it was just like staying at a friends house, they were large and clean- in fact better than some smaller en suites we've had in the past. Also only £5 taxi ride into town. We would definitely recommend

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed here whilst on business in Newcastle on the 13th/14th Feb. The host is very welcoming and I felt relaxed. The carpets on the stairs and some of the decorating was a little dated, but the room was nice, warm and clean.

Room Tip: Some rooms appear to share a batroom so choose carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I was made so welcome my Son & his Girlfriend stayed there too, we all had come up for a hospital visit, the rooms are lovely clean and very warm just what you need on a cold winter stay in January. The breakfast was very nice saying I'm not really a full-English breakfast person. Caterina is just so helpful and friendly lovely lady. Should we ever have to come again I most certainly would stay there again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our 2nd time staying here and already booked in for this November. There was 3 of us in the party and like the last time we can not fault this hotel the owners are so lovely and make you feel so welcome and at home. We love our breakfast so look forward to it in the morning sets us out for our Christmas Shopping Trip at the Metro. Also this so central for the Metro centre and for Newcastle Town Centre. There's only 1 thing for you to do is stay here and you won't disappointed

Room Tip: We had a room at the top of the Hotel and the view was lovely over Newcastle
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton House Hotel

Address: 46 Clifton Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 6XH, England (Formerly Chirton House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifton House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.