We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malmaison Newcastle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Malmaison Newcastle to your Saves list
Malmaison Newcastle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newcastle Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
West Yorkshire. England.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

Upon arrival at 3.30pm our room was still not ready. We were hoever given drinks vouchers until the room was made up.
The staff were very couteous and friendly, and when our hot water tap fell off...we were offred another room immediately!
The room was lovely...spacious and clean, with the best most forceful shower ever....although even when we turned it off it turned itself back on annoyingly..usually in the middle of the night!
In a fab location for reaching most places.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    434
    210
    79
    46
See reviews for
97
570
27
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

I booked a millennium bridge view room with the hotel's website for a fabulous rate. As it was a twin room, I asked if I could have a double bedded room (I hate single beds), and I was given a corner room with a view over the Millenium Bridge/the Sage/the Baltic/the Tyne Bridge - and space to relax with two tellies - and a huge bed!

The hotel was very comfortable - a wonderful bed with crisp linen and fluffy towels. The food was good at breakfast and room service too. The staff were friendly and helpful.

All the things I wanted to see on the Quayside were within a few minutes walk and the shopping centre was only about 10 minutes walk too. All in all, an ideal place to spend a couple of nights marvelling at Newcastle's amazing regeneration. Various restaurants and bars are next door or within a few minutes walk, so if you want something a bit less formal for dinner rather than the hotel's brasserie, it is within easy reach.

Minor niggles: for this class of hotel, I would expect things like body lotion and bottled water in the room. There was shampoo/conditioner/soap and a minibar, as well as tea and coffee, but I would have expected these extras as almost standard. These things would not put me off staying here again - but it is certainly worth paying for a view if you want to appreciate the hotel to its full. If you don't get a room with a view, do have a drink in the bar and sit next to the window for a short time.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

We went for an evening meal using a voucher for 2 courses and wine. Service was poor, not outwardly rude but we weren't even asked how our meal was. Food was ok considering we weren't paying so much but generally over seasoned and not what you would expect in a 4 star hotel. The fresh bread and olive paste was however nice. Perhaps it was because we were using a voucher that we had dissapointing food and service.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

The best thing about this hotel is the location, right on the busy Quayside area with lots going on. The decor is dark and depressing in the public areas and looks in need of a facelift. however there are some nice sofas scattered about. Rooms ok with nice a big bed. Toiletries thin on the ground consisting of body wash and soap but perhaps room was done in a rush as we had to search the room for the second bath and hand towels. Also got a very unpleasant shock when drawing the curtains and found a condom on the floor!!! Yuck. Staff generally helpful but queue to check out was at least 20 minutes long. Ate at Oldfields restaurant further along the Quayside which was excellent therefore only used the hotel restaurant for breakfast. An experience which was at best chaotic although there was a good choice on offer. Would stay again if they did special offers simply for the great location and views but it would be pending a condom search of the room!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambleside
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

Booked at relatively short notice for a one night Saturday stay through Superbreak. Knew all about Malmaison as I work in the hotel industry, but nothing quite prepared me for the gloom when I stepped through the door. Don't get me wrong, the decor and fresh flowers in Reception were great, but it took a few moments to get my bearings and find reception!
Staff were great on check-in and in the bar later on - really attentive and friendly service.
Our room had a panoramic view of a wall across the street but, to be honest, as we were only there for one night and out for the evening it wasn't really a problem ( a longer stay may have led to a request for a room change however, due to the lack of view and daylight increasing the general dark and gloomy feeleing in the room). The room itself was generally well maintained and toiletries of a high standard. DVD player in room (no mention of a DVD library by Reception which many hotels now offer).
My main criticism is this - I understand the decor and thinking behind what Malmaison is and where it pitches itself in the market (and I really do like the decor, despite the 'gloomy' comments above). However, if you are going to take the bold step of distancing yourself from the comprtition by having deep purple walls and corridors etc, you need to ensure they are maintained constantly and to a high standard. The inevitable scrapes and scuffs on corridor walls had led to small (very small) areas of exposed plasterboard. Whilst this wouldn't be noticeable in 99% of hotels, the contrast between these and the very dark walls meant that certain areas looked as though a refurb was really needed (which in all honesty, just needed a spot of paint).
Finally, breakfast was fantastic. Whilst the range of products was decidedly average, I have to say that the quality of the products on the cold/continental buffet was excellent. The bacon and sausage were standard hotel items really, but I'm probably spoilt in this regard due to my job!
Parking is fine - guests have use of the 3rd floor of the multistorey behind the hotel for an overnight fee of £4 (really quite reasonable for what is a city centre hotel).
Can't comment on dinner in the restaurant as we had to eat mid-afternoon and chose the convenient Slug and Lettuce - very, very busy but suprisingly decent food and fantastic value.
All in all a good stay and I would certainly return, just might pay that little extra for a river view rather than a wall!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

Stayed at the Malmaison for leisure for the second time on a recent Sunday evening. The room (one of the corner suites) was fabulous with the great contemporary decor and all mod cons you'd expect at the Mal, loads of space, great view and a huge, very comfortable bed. Had a bit of a wait at check in but were given free drinks in the bar to compensate, and lots of apologies so no problem. To say it was a Sunday the bar was buzzing and the restaurant was completely full. The two young men managing the bar were fast, friendly and polite and couldn't do enough to keep their many customers happy. The meal was a complete let down though. Yes, they had been busy, but totally raw steak? Bone dry prawns and tired, wilted lettuce in a prawn cocktail? No napkins, no cutlery? No salt and pepper? There were many other tables not happy and huge plates of food were being sent back and lots of people having a word with the overworked staff. If this was the first time this had happened it could be seen as just one of those things, but the first time we dined at the Mal was a total let down too unfortunately. The restaurant staff were very apologetic and dealt with the situation brilliantly, but I won't be dining at the Mal again, and think it's a shame that a hotel of this calibre can't sort out its restaruant problems. I love the Mal for its location, atmosphereand fab rooms, and I will stay there again, but I certainly won't be giving the restaurant another try!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

Our room was large and comfortable, with pretty much everything you would expect from a 4star hotel. Unfortunately, we booked too late for a river view room, which may have been partly to do with a problem with their website (we had tried to book a couple of days earlier and had no response to our query). However, when we arrived home, there were both an email message and a telephone message apologising for the problem and because we had had such a good experience with our stay, we found it easy to accept their apologies. The staff were a perfect mix of professional and friendly, and even an 'off-duty' member of staff was helpful and courteous. We felt really well taken care of throughout our two day stay. The hotel is perfectly situated for exploring, five minutes' walk from the Sage Gateshead Concert Halls and actually on the Quayside. Oh, and the bar has a stunning view of the millenium bridge!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malmaison Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Newcastle

Address: Newcastle Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fog on the Tyne? Let's hope not. Otherwise you'll miss the great view of the Tyne Bridge you get from our hotel in Newcastle city centre. But then, when you're staying at Malmaison Newcastle, it's the views on the inside that tell you your boat's come in. While you're right at the heart of Newcastle's great shops and exciting nightlife, the lure of MALBAR's legendary cocktails and the Mal Brasserie's classic dishes with a twist is pretty strong. And who wants to spend all night out on the town when one hotel in Newcastle has a whole floor with a shipbuilding theme and bathtubs you could sink a battleship in? It could only be the Newcastle Mal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Malmaison Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malmaison Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.