We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accommodation, nice food, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malmaison Newcastle

Save Saved
You added Malmaison Newcastle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Newcastle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newcastle Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
East Lothian
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely accommodation, nice food, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Given a large double room to accommodate our 2 children under 5 as well which was very spacious and perfect for our needs.
The hotel itself was very smart and clean and the food was lovely. It would be nice if they had a children's menu but we managed to choose food which was reasonably child friendly. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
Free wi-fi too although the coverage was patchy in places.
View over the Tyne and Millennium Bridge was fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    353
    158
    59
    37
See reviews for
71
432
25
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I love this place and have stayed here many, many times over the years , always trying to get a Quayside view which is mesmerising especially if by the Millennium Bridge . Lovely food in brasserie and the bar is a favourite and having seen a few celebs there over the years is interesting place to people watch . Had my 40th Birthday here a few years ago and it made the occasion , especially as the bar stayed open until 5 a.m. when the last few stragglers left. The only slightly negative experience I have had was last time I stayed last August and the room was impossibly hot and I couldn't sleep as well as a film of white dust all over the room when I woke in the morning . I very much hope that the next time I treat myself it is as perfect as it has been all the other occasions .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

stayed here 1 nite,love the this chain of hotels,breakfast very good.it over looks the bridge which looks fab at nite,close to restaurants and bars not far from shops.rooms are gorge purple, silver decor ,i love the colour scheme but if you like bright decor this might not be for you,but really give it a go you will love it.staff always helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: ask for a room at front over looking the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I would just like to express my gratitude and commend two excellent members of staff, David (manager) and Dale. After booking through booking.com 11 months in advance i thought everything was sorted for our break to Newcastle. Whilst making the journey from York my husband (who was not with me) tried to call and pay for my room only to be informed that booking.com had cancelled the 3 rooms we had booked !!!!!!!

Had it not been for David and Dale who promtly sorted the rooms out for us with no fuss at all and made us feel extremely at ease and very welcome we would have been stranded in Newcastle with no where to stay. Nothing was too much trouble and everything wasdealt with in a very professional manner. Thank you again, looking forward to our next visit .

Room Tip: upgrade to an executive twin.. rooms extremely spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a couple for two nights. Our room looked out onto the Millennium Bridge which looked fantastic at night. The bar downstairs was well run, and drinks and snacks were worth the slightly hiked fees considering the location and view from the bar area. Parking was conveniently opposite the hotel and was free which was a great bonus.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel several times with my wife and it has been excellent every time. The food is superb. It is pricey, but good value. I would recommend the steak, it is among the best I've ever had. The cocktails in Malmaison are also extremely nice, though at £8 they are a bit pricey (but if you're having a night in Malmaison you're not normally looking for a cheap dinner!)
The rooms I have stayed in have been small, but beautifully furnished. The only complaint I have is that the lighting is very dim, but my wife says that its romantic. So I can't complain. I would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The hotel looks lovely from outside but it was average on the inside. At £99 per night for a double room, no breakfast, it was in my opinion slightly overpriced. The room initially looked attractive but was a bit shabby. The voile curtain at the window had a great big slash and cigarette burns. I'm sure these curtains only cost about a fiver but someone deemed the room to be ready for use in that state. The shower was really good and the bed was comfy. I found a bit of difficulty in putting my make-up on because although there were four mirrors in the bedroom and one in the bathroom, I couldn't get close enough to any of them to see what I was doing as they were obstructed by lamps, etc. As others have said, yes the rooms are also a bit dusty. Good location to walk or catch the minibus into Newcastle, although I feel there are better hotels for the price.

Room Tip: Pay the extra £10 for the view of the Millenium Bridge or you'll be overlooking the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Malmaison Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Newcastle

Address: Newcastle Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Malmaison Newcastle 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fog on the Tyne? Let's hope not. Otherwise you'll miss the great view of the Tyne Bridge you get from our hotel in Newcastle city centre. But then, when you're staying at Malmaison Newcastle, it's the views on the inside that tell you your boat's come in. While you're right at the heart of Newcastle's great shops and exciting nightlife, the lure of MALBAR's legendary cocktails and the Mal Brasserie's classic dishes with a twist is pretty strong. And who wants to spend all night out on the town when one hotel in Newcastle has a whole floor with a shipbuilding theme and bathtubs you could sink a battleship in? It could only be the Newcastle Mal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Malmaison Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malmaison Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.